Western Reserve Life

This Western Reserve Life review will cover Western Reserve Life ratings by real users for overall satisfaction and claims, cost, billing, and service satisfaction. The Western Reserve Life A.M. Best rating is A+, and the Western Reserve Life S&P Rating is AA-. To compare insurance rates from the best companies in your locale, enter your ZIP code below.

Free Insurance Comparison

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Chris Tepedino is a feature writer that has written extensively about home, life, and car insurance for numerous websites. He has a college degree in communication from the University of Tennessee and has experience reporting, researching investigative pieces, and crafting detailed, data-driven features. His works have been featured on CB Blog Nation, Flow Words, Healing Law, WIBW Kansas, and C...

Full Bio →

Written by Chris Tepedino
Insurance Feature Writer Chris Tepedino

Laura Walker graduated college with a BS in Criminal Justice with a minor in Political Science. She married her husband and began working in the family insurance business in 2005. She became a licensed agent and wrote P&C business focusing on personal lines insurance for 10 years. Laura serviced existing business and wrote new business. She now uses her insurance background to help educate...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Laura Walker
Former Licensed Agent Laura Walker

UPDATED: Nov 19, 2011

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Company Details
Address: 4333 Edgewood Road N.
City: Cedar Rapids
State: IA
ZIP Code: 52499
Phone Number: (319) 355-8511
Fax: (319) 355-2825
AM Best Rating: A+
S&P Global Ratings: AA-
Moody's Rating: A1
Fitch Rating: A

Reviews
for Western Reserve Group

3.45 (33 reviews)
1
May 13, 2021

Tms

Unprofessional

Had my first claim in 20 years. Had to deal with the rudest most hateful people ever. I have cancelled my policy
1
March 25, 2020

jprice

Poor review

I had some bank account fraud on my checking account and they temporarily shut down my account. I had inadvertently forgot my check to Western Reserve group had already been written. I received a letter from them three days before they were going to suspend my insurance stating that I had to get them a certified check or cashiers check for the full amount by that Sunday. I called them and told them the story- they told me that I couldn't use m...
I had some bank account fraud on my checking account and they temporarily shut down my account. I had inadvertently forgot my check to Western Reserve group had already been written. I received a letter from them three days before they were going to suspend my insurance stating that I had to get them a certified check or cashiers check for the full amount by that Sunday. I called them and told them the story- they told me that I couldn't use my credit card and that I needed to call my local insurance agent. They wouldn't or didn't know how to take my money. The local agent stated that she would reach out to me once she found out how to do it. Never got a call back and thus it was cancelled. Just to boot, I got a bill in the mail for money owed ($38.00) for the lagging period. Not much customer service. I was a customer for at least 10+ years. Sad they treat a customer like that.
5
October 15, 2018

Ssdowning

Good price

They have been great to work with so far! The price is much lower than what we were paying with our previous provider.
5
September 3, 2018

jgirl09

Fan For Life

To be honest, they made shopping for auto insurance easy and manageable for a first-time buyer. I plan on staying with them for a long, long time.
5
July 16, 2018

Ama74

Positive Experience

I have had only good things to say about this company. I have had several claims with this company and never had any problems.
5
April 18, 2018

willieandbarb

Good reliable company to do business with!

This has been a very reliable company. Any claims we have had were taken care of immediately with no problems.
5
February 11, 2018

tango5432

Great service

Great price and excellent customer service easy to use website easy to get a hold of if needed .
5
December 2, 2017

Bethaw

Affordable and fair

I LOVE this insurance company. I get such great coverage for such a great price. I was in an accident shortly after I got my car. Someone rear ended me. It was no problem having someone come out to document and take pictures to find a repair shop to do the job to fix my car.
4
October 26, 2017

servantgal

Reasonable interaction

We have never had any troubles with Western Reserve. We had one claim when our son was in a minor accident, and another when someone else backed into me. They were reasonable to work with both times, and paid according to the policy. The payment wasn't quick, but again, it was reasonable and was what we expected.
5
October 8, 2017

VStrawder

Helpful and conscientious of customers

We have had more than one experience with the automotive portion of our insurance through Western Reserve Group. We had to use our uninsured coverage for one incident. Another, we had difficulty getting insurance info from the other party and Western Reserve stepped in and handled it promptly and efficiently. The third incident, we ended up not needing to use our coverage but Western Reserve called us to make sure things were being handled by the...
We have had more than one experience with the automotive portion of our insurance through Western Reserve Group. We had to use our uninsured coverage for one incident. Another, we had difficulty getting insurance info from the other party and Western Reserve stepped in and handled it promptly and efficiently. The third incident, we ended up not needing to use our coverage but Western Reserve called us to make sure things were being handled by the other party's insurance in a timely manner and offered to help in resolving any situation that we felt wasn't being handled correctly. It's a good feeling to know that they "have our back", so-to-speak, and that we have someone on our side to give advice and information that we have needed to get things done.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.usinsuranceagents.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption