Rhode Island Car Insurance Regulations & Required Coverage
Rhode Island car insurance regulations require all drivers to maintain current car insurance coverage with specific minimum requirements. Rhode Island auto insurance law is based on the tort system. In a tort system, someone must always be found to be at fault in an accident. The at-fault party, along with their insurance company, is then held responsible for paying damages. Learn more below.
Free Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.
Rhode Island mandates that all drives maintain current car insurance coverage with specific minimum requirements. For drivers caught driving in Rhode Island without insurance, the state has set penalties in place. Staying up to date on Rhode Island insurance rules and regulations can help keep you and your passengers safe and on the right side of the law.
Insurance law in Rhode Island is based on the tort system. In a tort system, someone must always be found to be at fault in an accident. The at fault part, along with their insurance company, is then held responsible for paying damages from the accident.
All personal vehicles in Rhode Island require the following liability coverage requirements:
- Bodily Injury
- Property Damage
Additionally, North Carloina requires the following coverage:
- Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury
|Minimum Rhode Island Car Insurance Requirements|
|Bodily Injury Liability||$25,000 / $50,000 Limit|
|Property Damage Liability||$25,000 Limit|
|Uninsured/Underinsured Bodily Injury||$25,000 / $50,000 Limit|
Additional insurance coverage can include:
- Comprehensive and Collision Coverage
Comprehensive and collision insurance are many times grouped together by insurance companies. Comprehensive covers such incidents as damage from flooding or from a fire. It can also add protection against car thieves (view a list of the most stolen vehicles in Rhode Island). Collision adds protection against your vehicle in the event
of an accident. It pays for repairs or replacement of your vehicle.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility
- Get a standard liability car insurance policy
In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:
- Insurance ID Card
You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility and present it:
- When asked by a police officer
- After an accident
- Anytime you drive your vehicle
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties
If you are unable to show proof of insurance when asked, you can face one of the following penalties:
- A $500 fine
- Suspension of license for 3 months
Rhode Island Insurance Agents
Providence Car Insurance | Warwick Car Insurance | Cranston Car Insurance | Pawtucket Car Insurance | East Providence Car Insurance | Woonsocket Car Insurance | Newport Car Insurance | Lincoln Car Insurance