Gainsco Car Insurance Review & Ratings (2023)

Recently purchased by State Farm, Gainsco car insurance specializes in minimum coverage policies for high-risk drivers. You can buy SR-22 insurance from Gainsco, but coverage is only available in 20 states.

UPDATED: Jan 25, 2023Fact Checked

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Chris Tepedino is a feature writer that has written extensively about home, life, and car insurance for numerous websites. He has a college degree in communication from the University of Tennessee and has experience reporting, researching investigative pieces, and crafting detailed, data-driven features. His works have been featured on CB Blog Nation, Flow Words, Healing Law, WIBW Kansas, and C...

Full Bio →

Written by Chris Tepedino
Insurance Feature Writer Chris Tepedino

Laura Walker graduated college with a BS in Criminal Justice with a minor in Political Science. She married her husband and began working in the family insurance business in 2005. She became a licensed agent and wrote P&C business focusing on personal lines insurance for 10 years. Laura serviced existing business and wrote new business. She now uses her insurance background to help educate...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Laura Walker
Former Licensed Agent Laura Walker

UPDATED: Jan 25, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jan 25, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jan 25, 2023Fact Checked
2.6
usinsuranceagents.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Gainsco

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$119

A.M. Best rating:

A-

Complaint level:

High

Pros

  • Will provide insurance to high-risk drivers who are unable to find insurance with other companies
  • You can work directly with an independent agent for a more personalized experience
  • SR-22 forms are available when needed
  • You’re able to request a quote directly through the website
  • Has a mobile app that allows you to pay bills and manage your policy
  • Strong financial rating of A- from A.M. Best

Cons

  • Gainsco has a larger number of complaints compared to other auto insurance companies
  • Coverage is not available in all states
  • The website does not provide any details regarding what is included in terms of coverage
  • There is no mention of additional services or if they’re available to be purchased

The Bottom Line

Gainsco can help if you’re looking for the minimum amount of coverage required by your state. However, check with your state to see the minimum level of liability you need so that you don’t face any fines or infractions for driving without a valid policy.

You can easily obtain a quote through their website or app or speak with a Gainsco independent agent about your coverage options. First, however, pay attention to Gainsco car insurance reviews in order to determine if the customer service at your local office is acceptable.

The company has more complaints than other insurers of its size, so it can help to compare quotes from multiple local companies. 

Shopping for insurance usually involves making a budget and researching the amount of insurance coverage you need in order to meet your state’s minimum requirement. Gainsco might be on your list if you’re looking for minimum or budget-friendly auto insurance coverage.

Although recently purchased by State Farm, Gainsco was founded in 1978 and specializes in auto insurance for high-risk drivers and those looking to purchase a policy close to the minimum amount required by state law.

Gainsco makes driver safety a priority, stating on its website that, while minimum coverage policies are offered, each driver should do what is best in order to remain safe on the road. Keep reading for Gainsco car insurance reviews and ratings, including company pros and cons and a free rate comparison.

Is GAINSCO Auto Insurance a Good Choice?

When you’re shopping for car insurance, looking at customer reviews can lend insight into what a company is going to provide in terms of customer service. You may also be interested in the financial strength rating of companies, as these determine how reliable a company will be when paying out claims.

Gainsco has a rating of A- with A.M. Best, putting them into the category of ‘Excellent’ in terms of financial strength. A.M. Best stated that this increase in the rating was due to Gainsco’s ability to provide payouts to claims submitted.

It should be noted that Gainsco does not currently have a rating with either J.D. Power or S&P, which is typical for smaller companies its size. Learn how to document damages for car insurance claims.

Does Gainsco have any customer complaints?

Gainsco insurance reviews can help you to get a better idea of what type of customer service is offered. Being a smaller company — since it’s not offered in all states — Gainsco has a large number of complaints against it compared to other insurers.

The Gainsco auto insurance app has a 3.3-star rating for Android, with over ten thousand downloads. The Gainsco auto insurance app isn’t on the Apple Play Store, but the Gainsco Quick Estimate app is. Unfortunately, it only has a 2.7-star average with only 22 ratings overall. 

Other Facets of Gainsco Car Insurance 

There are other aspects of Gainsco that make the company worth looking into.

The following are a few of the additional perks offered by Gainsco car insurance: 

  • Two different mobile apps. You’re able to download both the Gainsco auto insurance and the Gainsco Quick Estimate app with Google Play. The Apple app store only has the Gainsco Quick Estimate app. 
  • Gainsco’s helpful website. You’re able to manage your policy and pay your bill but also ask questions, see customer reviews, get a quote, or even become an agent. The website also provides the most recent information in terms of the company’s growth and ratings. 
  • Bilingual customer support. Customer service is available in both Spanish and English. 
  • Work with agents directly. Gainsco operates using over twenty thousand independent agents, so there is a wide variety of locations to work directly with someone should you need assistance.

The Gainsco website also states that it offers flexible and customizable policies, depending on the type of coverage you’re looking to purchase. You can also obtain other company information from the website, including the A.M. Best rating, home office address, and the main customer service phone number.

Unfortunately, the website does not list Gainsco policy options. You will need to call and speak with an agent to learn what kind of coverage is available in your state.

Why does Gainsco use independent agents?

Gainsco chooses to use independent agents so that you’re able to work with someone in your area who understands what you need from your insurance policy. This can include knowing local traffic patterns, how congested roadways can get, and whether or not you’ll need something like comprehensive car insurance to cover rodent damage to a car.

Should you buy Gainsco car insurance?

When making a decision, it’s crucial to consider all aspects of a company, including its reliability in the event that you need to file a claim and its customer service should you have any questions. 

With Gainsco, you have the option to work with agents, use the mobile app, and reference the FAQ section of the website. However, it’s unclear from the website if Gainsco sells the type of coverage you might be looking for.

Comparison shopping can be a great way to compare companies, not just for the rates but for the overall customer experience as well.

While Gainsco offers minimum coverage policy options, you should always determine what your vehicle needs in order to be protected on the road.

For example, if it’s a new vehicle, or you’re concerned about the driving conditions where you’re located, you may want to think about getting a wider variety of coverage or higher limits than what’s included in your car insurance policy.

GAINSCO Auto Insurance Rates

Most companies use the same factors when setting auto insurance rates, but how each weighs these variables can vary depending on the company and local state insurance laws. That’s why comparing multiple companies is the best way to get the cheapest car insurance quotes.

The following are some examples of what an insurance company like Gainsco may look at to determine how much you pay for car insurance:

  • Your driving record. A clean driving record can help lower your rates, but most companies look back between three and five years for any accidents, DUIs, speeding tickets, or other infractions.
  • Your location. Gainsco auto insurance rates are based on ZIP code, so your quotes may look different than another driver who lives a few blocks away. 
  • Your vehicle. Newer cars, sports cars, and luxury vehicles are more expensive to repair, so policies will reflect this increased cost by charging higher rates.

Companies use other factors to determine what you will pay each month for car insurance, including your marital status, credit score, and annual mileage. You should also inform your insurance company if you garage your vehicle or are not going to be driving for long periods of time so you can reduce coverage and save money.

What is there to know about Gainsco car insurance costs?

Gainsco specializes in selling the state minimum requirements for auto insurance. This means that you should be aware of what is required in terms of car insurance in your state. If you fail to meet the minimum requirements, you may be fined, lose your driver’s license or both.

The average amount you will pay for car insurance is going to change depending on the state you live in, which means that Gainsco could be either cheaper or more expensive than the state average based on location alone. 

Other deciding factors can include your credit score, your driving report, marital status, and the type of car you drive. Since Gainsco focuses on selling car insurance to drivers who are high-risk, chances are you will compare quotes against other companies at potentially higher rates. 

Gainsco Car Insurance Rates vs. Other Companies

Currently, there are no average online rates since the Gainsco website is sparse in policy information. However, you can look at data from other insurance companies to get an idea of how much auto insurance costs near you. 

Take for example a few of the leading insurance companies — Progressive, Geico, Allstate, State Farm, and Nationwide — offer minimum coverage. So, using a 45-year-old male with a clean record first, you can look at what the rates would be: 

Average Monthly Minimum Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for a 45-year-old-male with a Clean Record
Insurance CompaniesAverage Monthly Minimum Coverage Rates with a Clean Record
Progressive$38.92
Geico$30.18
Allstate$61.06
Nationwide$43.94
State Farm$33.14
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Only Allstate is more expensive than the national average, with a monthly rate of $61.06. Nationwide comes close with $43.94 each month, and Geico is the cheapest at $30.18 per month. 

Gainsco Car Insurance Rates After an Accident

Since Gainsco is tailored towards drivers who are considered high-risk, below are the same companies, but the 45-year-old male driver will have a car accident on his record:

Average Monthly Minimum Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for a 45-year-old-male with an Accident
Insurance CompaniesAverage Monthly Minimum Coverage Rates with an Accident
Progressive$68.78
Geico$49.62
Allstate$86.63
Nationwide$61.37
State Farm$39.71
Get Your Rates Quote Now

There is an increase in price, even if it doesn’t seem significant. The national average becomes $65.81, and the most expensive policy remains with Allstate.

Even for minimum coverage, you’ll end up paying $86.63 a month with Allstate after an accident. State Farm becomes the cheapest in this scenario, with a minimum coverage policy only costing $39.71 after an accident. 

Gainsco Car Insurance Rates After a DUI

The national average becomes highest for 45-year-old males after they have had a DUI on record, becoming $80.59 each month.

Average Monthly Minimum Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for a 45-year-old-male with a DUI
Insurance CompaniesAverage Monthly Minimum Coverage Rates with a DUI
Progressive$52.31
Geico$81.83
Allstate$106.20
Nationwide$90.08
State Farm$45.36
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Geico, Allstate, and Nationwide all become more expensive, with Allstate having the most expensive monthly rate of $106.20, and Nationwide having the second most expensive monthly rate of $90.08. Find out how long a DUI stays on your record.

Gainsco Car Insurance Rates With a Speeding Ticket

By comparison, a 45-year-old male driver with a ticket on his driving record will pay $55.83 each month per the national average. This is more expensive than a driver who has a clean record but less expensive than car insurance rates with a DUI or an accident.

Average Monthly Minimum Coverage Auto Insurance Rates for a 45-year-old-male with a Speeding Ticket
Insurance CompaniesAverage Monthly Minimum Coverage Rates with a Ticket
Progressive$51.83
Geico$39.14
Allstate$72.10
Nationwide$52.54
State Farm$37.41
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Allstate is still the most expensive, with a monthly rate of $72.10. Nationwide and Progressive are in the same bracket for second place, with Nationwide’s monthly rate being $52.54 and Progressive’s monthly rate being $51.83.

Compare The Best Insurance Quotes In The Country

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

GAINSCO Auto Insurance Discounts Available

Even if you’ve had an accident or another infraction added to your driving record, or seen an increase in what you pay for car insurance, there are still ways to lower your rates with auto insurance discounts. 

Some of the discounts offered by Gainsco are the following: 

  • Proof of prior coverage discount. Many companies will provide you with savings if you’re switching companies. This shows that you’re familiar with the insurance process and proves that you have not had a lapse in your auto insurance. 
  • Auto-pay discount. Having auto-pay speaks to your financial responsibility and decreases your risk of missing a payment in the eyes of the company. 
  • Homeowner discount. This may be referring to either the possibility of bundling your homeowners and auto insurance, or you may simply obtain a discount by owning a home with a valid homeowners insurance policy. 
  • Good student discount. Students are often offered discounts if they manage to maintain a B or a GPA of 3.0 or more. 
  • Pay-in-full discount. Many companies prefer having customers pay their entire policy upfront and provide discounts accordingly.

Many discounts are not offered immediately, so when you request a quote, it’s best to provide all of your personal information in order to get the best rates.

GAINSCO Auto Insurance Coverage Options

Gainsco provides coverage to drivers who may be considered high-risk. This means that there could be tickets on your record or other infractions, and you will still be able to find coverage with Gainsco.

Often rates will be higher after an accident or ticket, so it can be difficult to find affordable auto insurance. 

Gainsco offers the following types of coverage to high-risk drivers: 

  • SR-22 insurance. It’s not a specific insurance policy, but an SR-22 form acts as proof that you carry the state-required minimum coverage after losing your license. Many states require SR-22 after multiple accidents, reckless driving, or DUIs.
  • Vehicle non-owner insurance. Non-owner insurance provides minimum liability coverage to drivers who don’t own a car but borrow or rent vehicles often. If you need to file SR-22 and don’t own a car, you may be required to have non-owner insurance before you’re able to drive again. 

Unfortunately, the website does not list specific policy types, so it’s unclear whether you’re able to get a full coverage car insurance policy from Gainsco or not. You will have to speak with an agent to learn more about its coverage options.

When do you need an SR-22 form?

Drivers who have a DUI or other serious driving infractions may be required to carry an SR-22 form as proof of insurance while their license is suspended.

As mentioned above, an SR-22 form isn’t car insurance but a document showing you still carry at least the minimum liability insurance required by your state. You often purchase the form in six or 12-month increments, but you’re required to maintain SR-22 for as long as you are without your license, 

If your state DMV requires you to file an SR-22 form, and Gainsco operates within your state, you would be able to purchase SR-22 insurance through the company.

What type of car insurance should you purchase?

You don’t have to be a high-risk driver to want more coverage than is necessary. People often use certain factors when choosing an insurance policy, such as the age of their vehicle and their annual mileage.

For example, if you drive a new or luxury vehicle or live in a state with unpredictable weather, you may want to carry more than just the state minimum.

Here are a few car insurance coverages to consider if you want to be better protected:

  • Liability coverage. Liability car insurance is mandatory in most states because it protects you financially if you injure another driver or damage their vehicle or property in an accident. 
  • Collision coverage. There is a difference between collision and comprehensive, even though they are often purchased together. Collision car insurance coverage offers financial protection in the event you’re in an accident with another driver. 
  • Comprehensive coverage. Comprehensive protects you from anything other than a collision with another vehicle. This can include damage done to your vehicle by an animal, a flood, or fire damage. Compare collision vs. comprehensive car insurance.
  • Uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage (UM/UIM). Suppose you get into an accident with a driver who doesn’t have insurance or only carries a minimum coverage policy. Having UM/UIM can keep you from having to pay out-of-pocket if their insurance doesn’t cover the damages.

While Gainsco’s website doesn’t currently list the types of policies you’re able to purchase, we highly recommend that you purchase more than jus the basic requirements so that you’re financially protected. Discounts are available to help lower your rates if price is an issue.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which states are covered by Gainsco?

According to the Gainsco website, insurance is available in the following states: Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Mississippi, Missouri, New Mexico, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, and Wisconsin.

Can I get a quote from Gainsco?

You are able to get a quote from the Gainsco Quick Estimate app, the Gainsco website, or by calling the customer service phone number.

Will Gainsco provide insurance if I’m a high-risk driver?

Gainsco does provide car insurance as well as SR-22 forms for drivers who are considered high-risk.

What will be my rate if I want full coverage from Gainsco?

The website doesn’t have rates or specific types of coverage listed. The only way to determine what type of policy you can purchase through Gainsco would be to request a quote or speak with an agent.

How do I file an insurance claim with Gainsco?

You can file a Gainsco car insurance claim through the mobile app, company website, or by calling the Gainsco customer service phone number at 1-866-GAINSCO.

How can I pay for my Gainsco car insurance?

AutoPay is an option you can set up through both the website and the app. However, you can also pay for your policy all at once, though it’s unclear whether or not this can be done over the phone.

Compare The Best Insurance Quotes In The Country

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Chris Tepedino is a feature writer that has written extensively about home, life, and car insurance for numerous websites. He has a college degree in communication from the University of Tennessee and has experience reporting, researching investigative pieces, and crafting detailed, data-driven features. His works have been featured on CB Blog Nation, Flow Words, Healing Law, WIBW Kansas, and C...

Full Bio →

Written by Chris Tepedino
Insurance Feature Writer Chris Tepedino

Laura Walker graduated college with a BS in Criminal Justice with a minor in Political Science. She married her husband and began working in the family insurance business in 2005. She became a licensed agent and wrote P&C business focusing on personal lines insurance for 10 years. Laura serviced existing business and wrote new business. She now uses her insurance background to help educate...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Laura Walker
Former Licensed Agent Laura Walker

Reviews
for GAINSCO Auto Insurance

2.61 (66 reviews)
1
October 21, 2022

Alfredo_J

Very poor Customer Service

I was recently in a accident and got rear ended. When I called my Adjuster “ [REDACTED NAME]” she had an attitude off the start. Even with a translator she was very rude and I will be switching my insurance once my 6 months are up. When I called State Farm (the driver at faults insurance) they we’re very nice throughout the whole process. I don’t understand how you can be so rude. Especially when it’s your job.
1
August 10, 2022

Misspakers

Worst CLAIMS SUPPORT EVER

I have only had them 2 months, got in an accident 4 days ago and still don't have a rental car. My adjuster has changed 3 times, no one returns calls or voicemail on full. Worst experience in all my 28 years of being a driver. I just need some a RENTAL CAR I mean it is apart of my coverage...
1
February 15, 2022

Tsw1981

Insurance lapse without knowing or informed by this company

Im very upset I've been with this company close to 3years. For the second time my insurance has lapsed and when I am always on auto pay. I've been driving with no insurance for 2months, I realized that this month was not drafted out of my account, so I called and they say it's canceled non payment, I'm beyond furious because I'm on AUTO PAY, IM dealing with fines and suspended registration because they didn't do something right and the man at cus...
Im very upset I've been with this company close to 3years. For the second time my insurance has lapsed and when I am always on auto pay. I've been driving with no insurance for 2months, I realized that this month was not drafted out of my account, so I called and they say it's canceled non payment, I'm beyond furious because I'm on AUTO PAY, IM dealing with fines and suspended registration because they didn't do something right and the man at customer service I spoke with was not helpful and short and told me I could start a new policy and my monthly payment was 89.00more, and ITS COMPLETELY GAINSCO FAULT, THEY SHOULD OF DRAFTED AUTO PAY AND WE ARE SUPPOSED TO TRUST IN COMPANIES WHEN WE DO THIS, BUT I CANT DO IT A 3RD TIME ITS UNFAIR, I FEEL LIKE GAINSCO SHOULD GO BACK AND FIX MY LAPSE SINCE IT WAS YOUR FAULT, IM NOT RISKING A 3RD TIME, THE CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE SUCKED AND NOT IN ANY WAY HELPFUL
1
February 11, 2022

Lalawter

Worse company ever

This is the worst company ever. I sold my car and tried to cancell the policy . so after call8ng for 3 days straight and talking is good untill i say i wanna cancell my policy then its pur you on hold or hang up on ypu. Finally talk to someone and told her i dont own the car she just said i cant cancell yourpolicy. So u took or stole $170 from me for a stranger to be insured in a car i dont own. Yall should be shut down
1
February 3, 2022

Zhanise26

A game toss

been with the company for over a year and I’m so disappointed. I have filed a claim and have been tossed from rep to rep for a week ! I have not talked to my adjuster [REDACTED NAME]
1
July 26, 2021

DerekC

Notice of Cancelation

Up until recently, I have had n complaints towards Gainsco. However, they've just sent me a threatening letter in the mail claiming they were going to kick me off my plan due to my payment being past due. Funny thing is I'm set up for direct deposit. The money was in my account at the time of the payment due date, but Gainsco made no attempt to collect my premium payment. I'm trying to call them and alert them of what happened and ask why. I've n...
Up until recently, I have had n complaints towards Gainsco. However, they've just sent me a threatening letter in the mail claiming they were going to kick me off my plan due to my payment being past due. Funny thing is I'm set up for direct deposit. The money was in my account at the time of the payment due date, but Gainsco made no attempt to collect my premium payment. I'm trying to call them and alert them of what happened and ask why. I've now been on hold for almost 30 mins and still no one has come to line to assist me. This whole thing has been a nightmare and I'm not going to wait around until next month to see if they've been able to fix the problem. Stay away from Gainsco
1
November 23, 2020

Brit10

Go the other way

This is one of the worse insurance companies to deal with. If you are considering them, I would say run the other way. You are constantly given the run around about your policy information. One agent tells you one thing, while another agent tells you something else. I requested that my policy be canceled and they gave me the run around about that. I have to write on paper, take a picture, then email just to cancel my policy. I requested that the ...
This is one of the worse insurance companies to deal with. If you are considering them, I would say run the other way. You are constantly given the run around about your policy information. One agent tells you one thing, while another agent tells you something else. I requested that my policy be canceled and they gave me the run around about that. I have to write on paper, take a picture, then email just to cancel my policy. I requested that the policy be canceled by the next billing period, but they decided to cancel it that day. Then they tried to act as if they did not see the note in the email. I was told I would be sent a check for the refunded amount, and here it is almost 10 days later and I have not received my money. However, when they decided to cancel the policy, that notice came in the mail right away. Again, I would advise looking into other companies before choosing this company.
5
October 4, 2020

harrysatin

Very impressive service.

I have not needed them for a claim but I am very impressed with the customer service. It is such a rare thing now days and that really has them stand out I think. I have never needed to hold long and I always get a well spoken, friendly person on the other end.I will suggest everyone just try it and you will find out their dedication towards the customer's
1
September 8, 2020

lsteele

TERRIBLE SERVICE

THIS IS THE WORST COMPANY EVER. THEY HAVE NO CUSTOMER SERVICE SKILLS WHAT SO EVER. STAY AWAY FROM THESE PEOPLE. I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO GET MY GLASS REPLACED FOR TWO WEEKS NOW AWFUL TERRIBLE PEOPLE. THEY HAVE NO IDEA WHAT THEY ARE DOING
1
June 9, 2020

FuckGainsco

Company ia a joke

Company is a joke! Lie, cheat and steal. Need to be reported to DOI! They are the worst insurance company in the business
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.usinsuranceagents.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption