Hastings Mutual Insurance Review & Ratings (2024)

Discover the complete review and ratings of Hastings Mutual Insurance, providing in-depth information on overall satisfaction, claims handling, cost, billing, and service. Learn about their coverage options for home, auto, business, and farm insurance. With over 130 years of industry experience, Hastings Mutual is a trusted provider.

UPDATED: Dec 4, 2023Fact Checked

Daniel Walker

Licensed Insurance Agent

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, life, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring tha...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Kristen Gryglik

Licensed Insurance Agent

Kristen is a licensed insurance agent working in the greater Boston area. She has over 20 years of experience counseling individuals and businesses on which insurance policies best fit their needs and budgets. She knows everyone has their own unique needs and circumstances, and she is passionate about counseling others on which policy is right for them. Licensed in Massachusetts, New Hampshire,...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Dec 4, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

UPDATED: Dec 4, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Dec 4, 2023Fact Checked
3.8
usinsuranceagents.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Hastings Mutual Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$119

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Diverse coverage options for home, auto, business, and farm insurance
  • Long-standing industry experience (over 130 years)
  • Customer-friendly discount programs
  • Efficient claims processing and user-friendly digital features

Cons

  • Limited availability in specific regions (6 states)
  • Minimal online quoting options, requiring in-person visits for quotes
  • Limited customer reviews available online

Final Verdict: Review of Hastings Mutual Insurance

Hastings Mutual has over 130 years worth of experience in the insurance industry, and is highly rated with both the BBB and A.M. Best. Even with the small amount of complaints against the company, their overall satisfactory ratings speak for themselves. With the wide variety of coverage options, Hastings Mutual is a great option for both business and personal use.

Now that you’ve learned about Hastings Mutual, take the time to enter your ZIP code and start comparing quotes in your area today.

What You Should Know About Hastings Mutual Insurance Company

Welcome to our comprehensive article on Hastings Mutual Insurance. In this guide, we will explore key topics such as Hastings Mutual Insurance reviews, ratings, coverage options, property insurance, and available discounts. Whether you’re seeking home, auto, business, or farm insurance, Hastings Mutual’s 130 years of industry experience make them a reliable choice.

  • Hastings Mutual provides insurance coverage for individuals, businesses, and farmers
  • Hastings Mutual is offered in six states – Michigan, Wisconsin, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, and Ohio
  • Hastings Mutual offers several competitive discounts for their customers

To ensure you make an informed decision, we’ve included real user feedback. Don’t miss the chance to compare rates from the best insurance providers in your area. Enter your ZIP code now and find the perfect coverage at the best rates.

Hastings Mutual is a well established insurance provider with more than 130 years of experience in the insurance industry. The company provides coverage for individuals, businesses, and farmers. This includes home and auto insurance, farm owners insurance, commercial umbrella insurance, and more.

With more than 600 agencies across Michigan, Wisconsin, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, and Ohio, their long-standing history to provide products backed by their financial strength and trusted reputation has given them a cutting advantage over most other companies within the insurance industry.

Specializing in not just homeowners insurance or auto insurance, Hastings Mutual has plenty of options to choose from when it comes to finding the right policy to fit your needs.

To learn more about who owns The Hastings Mutual insurance company, their policies and what is covered under each, keep reading. Ready to start saving on insurance today? Enter your ZIP code above for a quick and free comparison.

The Hastings Mutual Insurance Company Overview

A.M. Best: A

Better Business Bureau: A+

Hastings Mutual Insurance Company Insurance Coverage Options

Hastings Mutual Insurance offers a comprehensive array of coverage options tailored to meet the diverse needs of individuals, businesses, and farmers. With over 130 years of experience in the industry, Hastings Mutual is dedicated to providing reliable and customizable insurance solutions.

From safeguarding homes and personal property to offering specialized coverage for commercial ventures and farms, their range of policies is designed to offer peace of mind and protection.

  • Dwelling Coverage: Protects your house and other structures on your property against various perils.
  • Coverage Plus Policy Enhancement: Provides additional protection for your home and personal belongings with enhancements like increased limits and additional benefits.
  • Discounts: Various discounts available, including for additional household members and claim-free periods.
  • Deluxe Property Insurance: Offers coverage for merchandise, signage, and tools used to maintain rental units.
  • No Specific Discounts: Unfortunately, there are no discounts available for Deluxe Property Insurance.
  • Auto Insurance: Competitive discounts offered for both home and auto insurance, including new home discounts, fire alarm discounts, anti-lock brakes discounts, claims-free discounts, and anti-theft devices discounts.
  • Farm Insurance: Specifically designed coverage options catering to the unique needs of farm owners.
  • Business Insurance: Comprehensive coverage options for businesses, including property, liability, and more.
  • Specialty Coverages: Coverage for specific needs, such as umbrella insurance, catering to a wider range of risks and circumstances.

Hastings Mutual Insurance stands as a stalwart in the insurance landscape, offering robust coverage options across various domains. Whether it’s ensuring the safety and security of homes, businesses, or farms, their policies, backed by years of experience and top-notch service, provide a shield against unforeseen events.

With an emphasis on customization and reliability, Hastings Mutual Insurance remains a trusted choice for those seeking comprehensive and tailored insurance coverage.

Does Hastings Mutual offer property insurance?

There are a few different types of property insurance policies that Hastings Mutual offers, both commercial and personal property insurance. For personal property insurance, Hastings Mutual offers dwelling coverage which protects your house and any other buildings on your property from loss, including all perils.

With dwelling coverage, you have two additional add-ons available:

  • Recreational motor vehicle. Coverage for physical damage and liability can be added to your homeowners policy for ATVs, snowmobiles, and other small vehicles.
  • Watercraft. Coverage for physical damage and liability can be added to your homeowners policy for boats or personal watercraft 26 feet or smaller.
  • Coverage available: 6 states (Michigan, Wisconsin, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, and Ohio).

Compare The Best Insurance Quotes In The Country

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Hastings Mutual Insurance Company Insurance Rates Breakdown

Hastings Mutual Insurance prides itself on offering competitive and fair insurance rates across its diverse range of insurance products. Their commitment to providing comprehensive coverage at affordable prices is rooted in their dedication to customer satisfaction.

With a keen understanding of the various factors influencing insurance rates, Hastings Mutual aims to offer policies that cater to the individual needs and circumstances of their clientele.

  • Age and Gender: Age and gender can affect insurance rates, especially for auto insurance. Younger drivers or certain genders may be considered higher risk and, thus, have higher premiums.
  • Driving Record: A clean driving record typically results in lower rates, while accidents or traffic violations can increase premiums.
  • Home Characteristics: Factors like the age of the home, its condition, security features, and location can impact home insurance rates.
  • Business Type: For commercial insurance, the nature of the business, its size, industry risk factors, and safety measures may influence insurance costs.
  • Farm Operations: For farm insurance, factors like the size of the farm, type of operations, and equipment used can affect premiums.

Hastings Mutual Insurance stands as a reliable provider offering competitive rates for home, auto, business, and farm insurance. Through a combination of fair pricing and an array of available discounts, the company endeavors to make quality insurance accessible to all.

Whether it’s safeguarding homes, vehicles, or businesses, Hastings Mutual remains committed to delivering reliable coverage at rates that align with the diverse needs of their customers.

Hastings Mutual Insurance Company Discounts Available

Hastings Mutual Insurance values its customers by offering an array of discounts across its range of insurance products. Committed to providing comprehensive coverage at competitive rates, the company extends various discounts designed to accommodate diverse needs.

These discounts not only aim to make insurance more affordable but also incentivize customers to maximize their coverage options while enjoying cost-saving benefits.

  • Additional Household Members: Insure additional household members under the policy without added costs.
  • Waiver of Deductible Credit: Earn a $75 deductible credit annually for each claim-free year, up to a maximum total credit of $750.
  • Coverage Plus Enhancement: Enhance standard homeowners’ policies to secure additional protection for homes and personal belongings.
  • New Home Discount: Offers a discount for homeowners with a newly purchased home.
  • Fire Alarm Discount: Rewards homeowners for having fire alarm systems installed.
  • Anti-lock Brakes Discount: Discounts for vehicles equipped with anti-lock brake systems.
  • Claims Free Discount: Rewards policyholders for not filing claims by providing discounts.
  • Anti-theft Devices Discount: Discounts for vehicles equipped with anti-theft devices.
  • Customizable Discounts: Tailored discounts for specific farm operations, equipment, and safety measures.
  • Multi-Policy Discount: Possible discounts for farms with multiple policies or coverage areas

Hastings Mutual Insurance stands as a provider dedicated to ensuring accessible and affordable insurance coverage through a multitude of discounts. From home and auto insurance to specialized farm and commercial policies, the company’s commitment to offering tailored discounts aligns with its ethos of providing quality coverage that suits the unique requirements of its clientele.

Unraveling the Claims Process at Hastings Mutual Insurance

Ease of Filing a Claim

Hastings Mutual Insurance offers multiple convenient options for filing insurance claims. Customers can choose to file a claim online through the company’s website, over the phone by contacting their dedicated claims hotline, or by utilizing the mobile app provided by Hastings Mutual. These flexible options cater to various preferences and ensure that policyholders can report claims with ease and convenience.

Average Claim Processing Time

One of the critical factors in evaluating an insurance provider is the efficiency of their claims processing. Hastings Mutual Insurance strives to provide prompt claim processing to minimize the inconvenience for their policyholders. While specific processing times may vary depending on the complexity of the claim, customers generally report favorable experiences with the company’s speed in handling their claims.

Customer Feedback on Claim Resolutions and Payouts

Customer satisfaction with claim resolutions and payouts is a vital aspect of any insurance company’s performance. Hastings Mutual Insurance has garnered positive feedback from many policyholders regarding their fair and timely claim settlements.

While there may be occasional complaints, the overall consensus among customers indicates that the company values its commitment to delivering satisfactory claim resolutions.

Hastings Mutual Insurance Digital and Technological Features: Leading the Insurance Evolution

Mobile App Features and Functionality

Hastings Mutual Insurance offers a user-friendly mobile app designed to enhance the customer experience. The app provides policyholders with easy access to their insurance information, including policy details, coverage, and billing. Additionally, customers can use the app to file claims, track the status of existing claims, and receive real-time updates, making it a valuable tool for managing insurance needs on the go.

Online Account Management Capabilities

The company’s online account management system allows policyholders to have full control over their insurance policies. Through the online portal, customers can make payments, view policy documents, update personal information, and request policy changes. This digital feature streamlines administrative tasks and empowers policyholders to manage their insurance policies efficiently.

Digital Tools and Resources

Hastings Mutual Insurance offers a range of digital tools and resources to assist customers in making informed decisions about their insurance coverage. These resources may include educational materials, calculators, and interactive tools that help policyholders assess their insurance needs. These digital assets provide valuable insights and support to customers throughout their insurance journey.

How Hastings Mutual Insurance Company Ranks Among Providers

The insurance industry boasts a multitude of competitors, including Allstate, State Farm, Progressive, Farmers Insurance, and Nationwide, among others. Each competitor brings its unique approach, whether through technology innovation, extensive product offerings, localized customer service, or creative marketing strategies.

  • Allstate: Offers a wide array of insurance products, including auto, home, life, and business insurance. Known for its extensive network of agents and various discount programs.
  • State Farm: Renowned for its personalized customer service and diverse insurance offerings. Offers a range of insurance products from auto and home to financial services.
  • Farmers Insurance: Provides comprehensive insurance solutions for homes, autos, businesses, and specialty lines. Offers a wide range of coverage options and a vast network of agents.
  • Nationwide: Offers various insurance products, including auto, home, business, and specialty lines. Known for its financial services integration and stable financial standing.

These competitors stand out in the insurance industry, each with its unique strengths, whether it’s extensive product offerings, technological innovation, personalized service, or financial stability. While Hastings Mutual competes with these companies, its focus on tailored coverage, customer service, and a long-standing reputation within specific regions sets it apart in the market.

Hastings Mutual Insurance Reviews

With Hastings Mutuals’ strong reputation, they have maintained a low profile when it comes to customer complaints. There are only a few reviews on forums and home insurance review sites that complain about claims handling, including denied claims. But these claims take up only 15% of the overall reviews.

If you want in-person customer service and support for your insurance needs, Hastings Mutual is a great option for you. You won’t be able to obtain a quote unless through an in-person visit to one of their offices, so that does lead to a bit of an inconvenience factor among some customers.

However, you can file a claim and pay your bills directly on their website. And Hastings Mutual insurance claims that it is financially strong with almost $980 million in total assets and $436 million in direct written premiums.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the Hastings Mutual Insurance Company?

Hastings Mutual is an established insurance provider that offers coverage for individuals, businesses, and farmers. The company provides home and auto insurance, farm owners insurance, commercial umbrella insurance, and more. Hastings Mutual has over 130 years of experience in the insurance industry and more than 600 agencies across six states (Michigan, Wisconsin, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, and Ohio).

What is the rating of Hastings Mutual Insurance?

Hastings Mutual Insurance has an A rating from A.M. Best and an A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau.

What types of property insurance does Hastings Mutual offer?

Hastings Mutual offers both commercial and personal property insurance policies. For personal property insurance, the company offers dwelling coverage which protects your house and any other buildings on your property from loss, including all perils.

 

Hastings Mutual also has Deluxe Property insurance for commercial property which includes coverage for merchandise, signage, and tools that are used to upkeep rental units.

Does Hastings Mutual offer discounts for homeowners insurance?

Yes, Hastings Mutual offers discounts for homeowners insurance. These include additional members in the household, the waiver of deductible credit program, and Coverage Plus policy enhancement.

What other types of insurance products does Hastings Mutual provide?

Hastings Mutual offers business, home, car, and farm insurance coverage. The company sells its insurance exclusively through its network of independent agents. Hastings Mutual offers several competitive discounts for their customers on their home and auto insurance.

Compare The Best Insurance Quotes In The Country

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Daniel Walker

Licensed Insurance Agent

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, life, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring tha...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Kristen Gryglik

Licensed Insurance Agent

Kristen is a licensed insurance agent working in the greater Boston area. She has over 20 years of experience counseling individuals and businesses on which insurance policies best fit their needs and budgets. She knows everyone has their own unique needs and circumstances, and she is passionate about counseling others on which policy is right for them. Licensed in Massachusetts, New Hampshire,...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Reviews
for Hastings Mutual Insurance Company

3.76 (85 reviews)
1
September 20, 2023

Scooter_

No appreciation for customer loyalty

Been with Hastings for over 30 years, could not, would not, cut me a slack during hard times. Will NEVER sign with them again and most certainly will not recommend them. Shame on them and the lack of customers loyalty. Big money is what it is all about.
4
August 31, 2023

sedk

auto insurance premium raise

on February 2023 i was stopped on M59 for speeding which was 1-5 above and the officer told me its only going to be a fine NO POINTS so i did pay the fine and after that i received a letter from the state showing that it was ZERO Points. 2 weeks ago i received my renewal for Auto Insurance and i found that the incident was reported to them and they wrote speeding 1-10 and they assess 1 point and raised my premium by 470.00. my question to them i...
on February 2023 i was stopped on M59 for speeding which was 1-5 above and the officer told me its only going to be a fine NO POINTS so i did pay the fine and after that i received a letter from the state showing that it was ZERO Points. 2 weeks ago i received my renewal for Auto Insurance and i found that the incident was reported to them and they wrote speeding 1-10 and they assess 1 point and raised my premium by 470.00. my question to them is on what ground did you put the speeding 1-10 and how do you assess 1 point. is this fair or they try to make money any way they can from hard working people who trying to make in this life.
1
June 3, 2021

Stephywestern8219

Commercial audit

Horrible I loved my ins. Agent but company itself is terrible slapped me with huge bill for audit then they kept transferring me no one new why my bill was so high last lady I spoke with said she should be able to help me and that she would call me back the next day and never did and won't even respond to my emails my premium just for may was 3,668 and my reg. Premium monthly is around $700 then they told me June's bill is going to be over $2,000...
Horrible I loved my ins. Agent but company itself is terrible slapped me with huge bill for audit then they kept transferring me no one new why my bill was so high last lady I spoke with said she should be able to help me and that she would call me back the next day and never did and won't even respond to my emails my premium just for may was 3,668 and my reg. Premium monthly is around $700 then they told me June's bill is going to be over $2,000 it is commercial ins. But what they don't care about is that we are small family owned bus. Wouldn't recommend they really slam cheat and beat you when it's audit time
5
June 28, 2020

tjoelker

Great to work with

Hastings Mutual has been great to work with every time we have had a claim - from being hit by a car and our truck being totaled to hitting a deer.
1
November 17, 2019

SarahE

WORST INSURANCE COMPANY EVER

If I could give zero stars I would. After a traumatic car accident in which I was sitting parked at a light and was hit out of no where by a car going 45 MPH I was shaken up. It was my first experience filing an insurance claim, and ever level was a nightmare. I currently no longer have Hastings Mutual as my insurance carrier, and I was not going to leave a bad review, because in the end my claim got paid, but going through my old emails I was ju...
If I could give zero stars I would. After a traumatic car accident in which I was sitting parked at a light and was hit out of no where by a car going 45 MPH I was shaken up. It was my first experience filing an insurance claim, and ever level was a nightmare. I currently no longer have Hastings Mutual as my insurance carrier, and I was not going to leave a bad review, because in the end my claim got paid, but going through my old emails I was just astounded at the ineptitude, rudeness, condescension, and complete lack of compassion I experience. I would full recommend that if you have Hastings Mutual you switch before you have to deal with the claims process. You might expect a higher level of service from a smaller company like this, but think again. No one will ever answer when you call, they appear to leave the office about 15 minutes early. The claims representatives, at least the 2 that I worked with are not helpful in the slightest (particularly one " [REDACTED NAME] Messenger"). It took 4 months for me to get the claim paid, due to poor communication. I asked to be switched to a different claims representative multiple times and was ignored. I could go on and on, but they made a horrible, stressful situation even worse. I had been a customer for 16 years, and I regret every penny I paid to them. When I contrasted my experience with the experience my mom had filing a claim last year with a larger insurance company I immediately switched.
5
July 25, 2018

pfanny37

Great Company

Great company with great rates. We used an insurance broker who ran numbers on multiple insurance providers. Hastings Mutual beat the rest by a large margin. We are saving $200 each year with better coverage.
2
July 23, 2018

JenniferJones

Poor customer servicce.

My car was totaled, no personal injury and not my fault, but it took over 5 months to get everything settled. Had to make numerous calls, seldom received return calls. The agent that was working on my claim went on vacation without notifying me in the middle of this, and gave the claim to another agent without all the details. Had to complete the same form 3 times because they claimed they hadn't received it, although it was sent from our agent's...
My car was totaled, no personal injury and not my fault, but it took over 5 months to get everything settled. Had to make numerous calls, seldom received return calls. The agent that was working on my claim went on vacation without notifying me in the middle of this, and gave the claim to another agent without all the details. Had to complete the same form 3 times because they claimed they hadn't received it, although it was sent from our agent's office every time.
5
May 8, 2018

Jessm8382

Very helpful and friendly

This company is very helpful. I have never had any issues with them and they have helped me with all my insurance needs.
5
April 14, 2018

Shayh33

Excellent company

Excellent customer service. Handles all my needs with great timing. Answers all questions to the best of their kknowledge
2
April 2, 2018

Phealy31766

Not a great auto insurance company

This company is not great. They change your due date every month, cancel you when it’s their error, don’t credit payments
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.usinsuranceagents.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption