Western National

This Western National review will cover Western National ratings by real users for overall satisfaction and claims, cost, billing, and service satisfaction. The Western National A.M. Best rating is A. To compare insurance rates from the best companies in your locale, enter your ZIP code below.

Free Insurance Comparison

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Chris Tepedino is a feature writer that has written extensively about home, life, and car insurance for numerous websites. He has a college degree in communication from the University of Tennessee and has experience reporting, researching investigative pieces, and crafting detailed, data-driven features. His works have been featured on CB Blog Nation, Flow Words, Healing Law, WIBW Kansas, and C...

Full Bio →

Written by Chris Tepedino
Insurance Feature Writer Chris Tepedino

Laura Walker graduated college with a BS in Criminal Justice with a minor in Political Science. She married her husband and began working in the family insurance business in 2005. She became a licensed agent and wrote P&C business focusing on personal lines insurance for 10 years. Laura serviced existing business and wrote new business. She now uses her insurance background to help educate...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Laura Walker
Former Licensed Agent Laura Walker

UPDATED: Nov 19, 2011

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Company Details
Address: 5350 West 78th Street
City: Minneapolis
State: MN
ZIP Code: 55439
Phone Number: (952) 835-5350
Fax: (952) 921-9295
Website: wnins.com
AM Best Rating: A

Reviews
for Western National Mutual Insurance Company

4.31 (30 reviews)
5
February 25, 2020

robbotis

A+

Great policy and great people. Always friendly and make insurance easy. The Penalty Free Promise is an amazing feature!
5
December 9, 2019

kameolynn

Western National is a Good Company

I have been incredibly happy with Western National Insurance. Our rates are exactly as originally laid out and have not increased drastically over the years. I've had no trouble adding or removing coverage or vehicles at any point. Changes are made quickly and everything is done in a timely manner. My payments are taken out exactly as scheduled every month, and I love the option of automatic withdrawal. My insurance cards show up quickly after a ...
I have been incredibly happy with Western National Insurance. Our rates are exactly as originally laid out and have not increased drastically over the years. I've had no trouble adding or removing coverage or vehicles at any point. Changes are made quickly and everything is done in a timely manner. My payments are taken out exactly as scheduled every month, and I love the option of automatic withdrawal. My insurance cards show up quickly after a vehicle is added as well. They have the best rates of any insurance company I've looked into and I don't see us changing to another company any time in the near future. Very satisfied with their services.
1
February 11, 2019

beethovin1

crappy claims center.

I have a total lost on 12/24/2019. was on my way to see my children in another state. had to rental a car at an outrages price because of the holiday. my car was not paid for until 01/22/2019. I have 3 car rental since. one on the day of the accident. they provided me one until 01/14/2014. I was told to return the rental car because the check was going to arrive that day. they forgot the mail the check. no car, no check. I have to rent ...
I have a total lost on 12/24/2019. was on my way to see my children in another state. had to rental a car at an outrages price because of the holiday. my car was not paid for until 01/22/2019. I have 3 car rental since. one on the day of the accident. they provided me one until 01/14/2014. I was told to return the rental car because the check was going to arrive that day. they forgot the mail the check. no car, no check. I have to rent my own car again. they told me I will be reimbursed. I faxed the information to them, no response. turns out the adjuster went on leave for 2 week. finally got back with me and now don't want to pay me back the total amount I paid for my rental car. they say it too much. they apparently had a contract with Enterprise rental and can get a lower price. they will only pay me their contracted price. which is a bunch of [redacted word]. now, it 02/11/2019 and the problem have not been resolved. I am stressed out and tired of dealing with the insurance company. I am suing them. now they will have to reimburse me with attorneys fee, court fees and pains and suffering. 3 to 4 times as much as just paying me back for the car rentals. if they were working for me, they're fired.
5
November 3, 2018

sw25

Great

My agent has been absolutely amazing working to get me the best deals and keep me informed about how the policy works and the details.
5
September 18, 2018

Smoky

Won't Raise Your Rates If You Have An Accident

I was hit by an inattentive driver & my car was totaled. Western National Mutual Insurance company didn't raise my rates.
3
July 18, 2018

TracyS

Western National

The company is fine. I am able to pay by mail or over the phone. The people I have had contact with have been personable.
4
July 18, 2018

rleer4

Low Cost

I switched to this company because they offer the lowest cost for the same level of coverage as other companies. They offer all the benefits of coverage while staying affordable.
5
April 20, 2018

robbotis

Amazing

Great service and a great product. I'm not sure other carriers can come close to offering the Penalty Free Promise which won't ever require a charge for an accident I have.
5
March 7, 2018

nabthisis

What a deal!

These guys are great. I have complete coverage at a cost so far less than other companies. I almost can't believe it. I have recommended this company to many friends and they have the same experience.
4
February 18, 2018

dreamer333

very helpful team

they have been very good with allowing us to do monthly payments instead of doing 3 month payments, makes it alot easier on us
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.usinsuranceagents.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption