Grinnell Mutual

This Grinnell Mutual review will cover Grinnell Mutual ratings by real users for overall satisfaction and claims, cost, billing, and service satisfaction. The Grinnell Mutual A.M. Best rating is A. To compare insurance rates from the best companies in your locale, enter your ZIP code below.

Free Insurance Comparison

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Chris Tepedino is a feature writer that has written extensively about home, life, and car insurance for numerous websites. He has a college degree in communication from the University of Tennessee and has experience reporting, researching investigative pieces, and crafting detailed, data-driven features. His works have been featured on CB Blog Nation, Flow Words, Healing Law, WIBW Kansas, and C...

Full Bio →

Written by Chris Tepedino
Insurance Feature Writer Chris Tepedino

Laura Walker graduated college with a BS in Criminal Justice with a minor in Political Science. She married her husband and began working in the family insurance business in 2005. She became a licensed agent and wrote P&C business focusing on personal lines insurance for 10 years. Laura serviced existing business and wrote new business. She now uses her insurance background to help educate...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Laura Walker
Former Licensed Agent Laura Walker

UPDATED: Nov 19, 2011

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Company Details
Address: 4215 Highway 146
City: Grinnell
State: IA
ZIP Code: 50112
Phone Number: (641) 269-8000
Fax: (641) 236-2800
AM Best Rating: A

Reviews
for Grinnell Mutual

4.12 (97 reviews)
1
October 4, 2019

MattMichelle

Swept aside, negligence and still not compensated

All seemed well at first, as most things do. We (my husband and I) had a couple claims with minor repairs (deer vs car) and were compensated quickly and our vehicles were repaired quickly and properly. Then the nightmare begins and unfortunately continues. My Husband was on his way to a job in Colorado (September 23, 2018). He hadn’t made it 10 miles from our home when he faced hitting a car head on that was in his lane coming around a corner s...
All seemed well at first, as most things do. We (my husband and I) had a couple claims with minor repairs (deer vs car) and were compensated quickly and our vehicles were repaired quickly and properly. Then the nightmare begins and unfortunately continues. My Husband was on his way to a job in Colorado (September 23, 2018). He hadn’t made it 10 miles from our home when he faced hitting a car head on that was in his lane coming around a corner so instincts set in and he swerved to avoid the collision and took the ditch occupied by A telephone pole., ( Thankfully not live), splitting the pole in half. Our 2014 Dodge Durango R/T was towed away to a local garage/storage facility, Obviously my Husband was not ticketed and only had minor injuries. He went to the hospital a few days later with whiplash, a sprained wrist and a sore, bruised shoulder. We were told we could use a mechanic of our choosing, we choose one we trust, one we have previously used with Grinnell and they also offer free rental cars. We were not allowed to use the mechanic we had used before because it was to far away. (52 miles to be exact) we offered to split the tow and still denied. We were told the car was totaled and grab our belongings and the adjuster ([REDACTED NAME]) would be out of town a few days and would be in touch. My Husband left for a job in Wyoming. Eleven days later, I contacted the towing company who still hadn’t heard from Grinnell or [REDACTED NAME] the adjuster. When he called my Husband at work he told him they had a mechanic near by that they have used in the past look our vehicle and now our vehicle only had $10,000 worth of damage, it was no longer totaled (with a cracked and bent frame on a 2014 Dodge Durango R/T) We were mind blown with this information and wanted a second opinion with our first choice mechanic. The mechanic they had was extremely angry that we wanted a second opinion. The mechanic stated our suv was outside with the keys in it and we could pick it up. When I arrived to meet the tow truck to my dismay our vehicle was towed back to the storage facility because Grinnell hadn’t paid the towing or 12 day storage fee. A couple days later we were informed the fees were paid and We could have the suv towed at our expense, when we show up ( my Husband has now lost his job because he was so involved with doing the legwork with me that he couldn’t be responsible for his men at work being the Foreman on the job and the negligence of Grinnell), we were approached at the door of the storage facility and told to contact our insurance company because our vehicle had been burnt!!!! We were dumbfounded!!! Burnt!!! WTF!! We follow the gentleman to their storage facility of damaged cars looking like a small penitentiary. Our vehicle appeared to look the same as my Husbands accident until they opened the doors and it was burnt to a crisp! A devastating and heartbreaking.... words can’t explain. We (our whole family of 5, three children and us) loved our Durango. The keys were in the ignition still, doors were left unlocked, we wanted answers. What happened? Are other vehicles burnt? Do you have cameras?? No Cameras!!!! We were informed they had never had an incident before and they are now installing cameras. We had Police officers and Grinnell’s Fire Marshall come to our home (separate occasions) and questioned us and took our statements about the incident. We now have a new adjuster ([REDACTED NAME]) for a total loss claim. We spoke with [REDACTED NAME] often because we now had to deal with the car and storage fees all over again. They were to move the vehicle to their own storage facility after the Fire Marshall performed his investigation. It was ruled as an undetermined case, they couldn’t tell if it was vandalism or a mechanical issue (apparently this make and model did have Electrical issues) Our now wrecked and burnt vehicle was brought to our home to save Grinnell from more storage fees. It sat at our place for a good week until it was sold off by Grinnell. We waited patiently to be compensated and complied with everything they asked of us. Months go by. Original accident in September, fire in October and finally December 23rd [REDACTED NAME] comes with an offer, a huge slap in the face,she offers $12,000 because they had cut a check for $10,000 prior to the fire for the vehicle repair. We had a $2500 warranty still in place on top of a clean paid off title and a blue book price of $28,000. Not only did we feel completely taken advantage of, ripped off and totally inconvenienced; We only were allowed the rental car for 3 wks, we had to share one vehicle with a family of 5 and my dying Father who was 2.5 hrs away from our home in the hospital. We ended up coming out of pocket close to $1,000 for rental cars And we hadn’t pay two $1,000 deductibles to Grinnell for two separate incidences yet only compensated for one. We are still not whole, my Husbands medical bills still have not been paid, his credit has taken a hit, we were never compensated for him missing and loosing his jobs and then dropped from Grinnell auto policy all together. We now have another insurance adjuster ([REDACTED NAME]) who has only contacted us once as of today’s date , needing information for his superior , asking my Husband why he felt we had a case with the storage/towing company. My husband told [REDACTED NAME] what we were informed by two different lawyers and that was when a vehicle is received in one condition, it should be returned either fixed or in the same condition they had received it. We had to recommend to them to pursue this claim and we don’t know if they even are doing anything at all. This is total and utter negligence on there behalf in so many ways. We have given them ample time and patience only to be ignored and treated like we don’t exist. The purpose of having an insurance company is to have someone on your side, fighting for what’s rightfully yours and helping you become whole again after an accident. I would never recommend anyone using this company and surely would never want anyone to go through this horrifying nightmare that is still continuing to this day for our Family. It has been over a year now and we are still waiting for them to make this right.
4
August 18, 2019

barbarasmith1969

Good company to deal with.

I have not had any problems with this company. I have not filed any claims. The agent that I got the policy with was very helpful and knowledgeable.
5
July 30, 2019

Jmorlan77

Easy and inexpensive

I have not had a claim. But their price is good and no unnecessary costs or work to be done. They were far less than progressive once I didn't have multiple policies.
1
June 17, 2019

victim

This Insurance company refuses to accept responsibility!!!

One of their clients hit us in auto accident! he claimed 100% @ fault. 7 years ago! REFUSE TO accept responsibility!!!
5
June 11, 2019

Karmagirl

Top Auto Insurance Company

Grinnell Mutual has been a wonderful insurance company to work with. We have been with them for over 15 years. The customer service is reliable and very helpful. Through the years we have had no issues at all making changes to our policy. And with only a couple claims through the years, they have been dependable and understanable
5
January 9, 2019

Deslinger

Fantastic service

Great company to work with! Have had two claims and they have always been taken care of right away!
5
December 22, 2018

OkieGirl46

Grinnell Mutual Great Customer Service

Great customer service. Dependable and always helpful. I have been with Grinnell Mutual for many years and I will continue to buy my insurance through them because I am so satisfied with them.
4
November 1, 2018

Bigwoopie

Cancelled after 28 years as a loyal customer

Well all was well for 28 years. Home and auto prems paid on time and in full. Until we had a bad patch for a couple years. I think we had 5 claims in less than 3 years. The last one was my daughter who did not pay attention and backed out of a parking space into the side of a truck next to her. And we got CANCELLED after 28 years. I expected our rates to go up and they did, but then we get a letter in the mail and they are done with us. T...
Well all was well for 28 years. Home and auto prems paid on time and in full. Until we had a bad patch for a couple years. I think we had 5 claims in less than 3 years. The last one was my daughter who did not pay attention and backed out of a parking space into the side of a truck next to her. And we got CANCELLED after 28 years. I expected our rates to go up and they did, but then we get a letter in the mail and they are done with us. There have been two times I could have filed a claim for hail damage but didn't because I didn't want to soak the company for something I could live with. Lot of good that did me. I guess they didn't make enough money off us over the last 28 years to help us when we needed it. I called Grinnell to express my concerns and after talking to 3 people was told there really isn't anyone at the company for me to talk to. No option for dropping our full coverage to liability, which would have made all but one of the claims we had made not their problem if we continued to have stupid mishaps in our own driveway.....no options- just cancelled. Forget it. I'm yanking my home insurance as well. They don'[t need anymore of my money after they made enough off my policy for all those years. Thanks. For. Nothing.
4
October 17, 2018

Home2013

Discounts don’t really mean savings

We have had the same auto ins for almost 30 yrs. we had a few claims early. We do rec’v multiple discounts, yet our policy goes up every year. We also wish our company would include glass coverage. We keep the policy because our agent claims she can’t get us any better of s deal.
5
October 16, 2018

dawnlm

Exceptional customer service

Such a great insurance company for both home insurance and auto. I have had to file a few auto claims and they make the process so easy & the adjusters are amazing to work with.They truly care about their customers.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.usinsuranceagents.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption