Shelter Company

This Shelter Company review will cover Shelter Company ratings by real users for overall satisfaction and claims, cost, billing, and service satisfaction. The Shelter Company A.M. Best rating is A. To compare insurance rates from the best companies in your locale, enter your ZIP code below.

Free Insurance Comparison

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Chris Tepedino is a feature writer that has written extensively about home, life, and car insurance for numerous websites. He has a college degree in communication from the University of Tennessee and has experience reporting, researching investigative pieces, and crafting detailed, data-driven features. His works have been featured on CB Blog Nation, Flow Words, Healing Law, WIBW Kansas, and C...

Full Bio →

Written by Chris Tepedino
Insurance Feature Writer Chris Tepedino

Laura Walker graduated college with a BS in Criminal Justice with a minor in Political Science. She married her husband and began working in the family insurance business in 2005. She became a licensed agent and wrote P&C business focusing on personal lines insurance for 10 years. Laura serviced existing business and wrote new business. She now uses her insurance background to help educate...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Laura Walker
Former Licensed Agent Laura Walker

UPDATED: Nov 19, 2011

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Company Details
Address: 1817 West Broadway
City: Columbia
State: MO
ZIP Code: 65218
Phone Number: (573) 445-8441
Fax: (573) 446-5730
AM Best Rating: A

Reviews
for Shelter Mutual Insurance Company

4.17 (420 reviews)
1
October 21, 2021

BenjaminHM

Non communicative experience.

I have never been more uncomfortable speaking with personnel in my life. The representatives from Shelter refused to work around my schedule for phone calls, constantly interrupted me, and even called me out for "harassing" the other driver for asking for their insurance info. I had to wait several months for their investigation to finish(note that the other driver was undeniably at fault in the accident.)When all was said and done they refused t...
I have never been more uncomfortable speaking with personnel in my life. The representatives from Shelter refused to work around my schedule for phone calls, constantly interrupted me, and even called me out for "harassing" the other driver for asking for their insurance info. I had to wait several months for their investigation to finish(note that the other driver was undeniably at fault in the accident.)When all was said and done they refused to pay for damage to my hubcap(later I had to pay for the resulting flat tire), didn't respond to my requests, and in general just treated me horribly.
4
October 17, 2020

DaRiD

Problem with Claims Communications

I recently had an accident and getting information from the company regarding the status of my claim was extremely difficult. Overall, my dealings with the agent are pleasant, but receiving updates from the claims department was a nightmare.
5
July 31, 2020

Atm

Great!

It was wonderful. Every time my insurance was supposed to go up it would go down in price. For example when I got an MIP when I was 19 my insurance went down $20.
5
July 19, 2020

Leo_Kim

The product and sevice is good!

The policy provided is very easy to understand. The agent was very nice to explain everything to me and helped customize my auto insurance.
1
July 9, 2020

Broncos1858

Horrible experience

Horrible. My brand new 2020 truck got damaged last night! The insurance agent was rude! I can't even take my truck to get fixed until the adjuster calls me so I am stuck driving around a damaged truck which was no fault of my own!!!
5
May 1, 2020

lesley

Trusted with good rates

The company covered my two fender benders and was a reasonable rate. The insurance agent was wonderful. He was a cornerstone of the community and trusted. I had my apartment and car insurance through the company. I was ran into and two different occasions and it did not raise my rates. I only canceled after I moved to a different state and got married.
5
February 23, 2020

Cricky73

A great company to do business with and offer discounts

I have not had to make a claim (fortunately) however, any time we've had a question they were available to answer and we're kind in doing so. Even better, their prices are lower than anyone else we could find. They also offer discounts such as safe driver.
5
February 13, 2020

kolsen

Shelter Insurance, A Great Company

Shelter has always been good to me and I've never had any issues. They offer far lower prices than I could find at competitors with the same coverage.
5
January 30, 2020

beanmom

Probably the Best

I had to file two claims in less than a year, and one I could have been hassled over, but Shelter took care of it no questions asked. Super friendly, and personable company. I have been with them for 5 years and have always been impressed, and I am a supercritical person when it comes to businesses such as this.
1
January 15, 2020

mmccoy44

Terrible

Simply put, I am incredibly frustrated and disappointed with my experience with Shelter Mutual Insurance. I am not a policy holder, but if I was I would cancel my policy and find insurance elsewhere. Back in November, a driver insured by Shelter hit my vehicle while it was parked on the side of the road. For two months, I got the runaround from this person’s insurance agent and the claims adjuster. I had to email and call 3 or 4 times before ge...
Simply put, I am incredibly frustrated and disappointed with my experience with Shelter Mutual Insurance. I am not a policy holder, but if I was I would cancel my policy and find insurance elsewhere. Back in November, a driver insured by Shelter hit my vehicle while it was parked on the side of the road. For two months, I got the runaround from this person’s insurance agent and the claims adjuster. I had to email and call 3 or 4 times before getting a call back. The communication and explanation of everything was borderline non-existent. I was promised a rental vehicle comparable to my 2018 Chevy Silverado and got a Nissan Altima. And just when I finally thought everything was over, my vehicle was held up at the body shop because the claims adjuster refused to return communications for 2 weeks to sign-off on the work. This has seriously been the worst experience of my life.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.usinsuranceagents.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption