State Farm Drive Safe and Save Insurance Review & Ratings (2024)

Discover the advantages of State Farm Drive Safe and Save Insurance – a usage-based program designed to reward safe driving with personalized coverage options, discounted premiums, and enticing rewards. Explore how this innovative insurance approach empowers you to take control of your coverage and potentially save on your premiums, while comparing rates from other top providers in your area.

UPDATED: Dec 2, 2023Fact Checked

Heidi Mertlich

Licensed Insurance Agent

Heidi works with top-rated life insurance carriers to bring her clients the highest quality protection at the most competitive prices. She founded NoPhysicalTermLife.com, specializing in life insurance that doesn’t require a medical exam. Heidi is a regular contributor to several insurance websites, including FinanceBuzz.com, Insurist.com, and Forbes. As a parent herself, she understands the ...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Daniel Walker

Licensed Insurance Agent

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, life, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring tha...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Dec 2, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

UPDATED: Dec 2, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Dec 2, 2023Fact Checked
4.1
usinsuranceagents.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Farm Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A++ (Superior)

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Comprehensive coverage options, including auto, home, renter’s, life, and health insurance.
  • Innovative Drive Safe and Save program, offering personalized discounts based on safe driving habits.
  • Multi-policy discounts available, encouraging customers to bundle and maximize savings.
  • Efficient and user-friendly State Farm app for easy policy management and monitoring.
  • Strong community engagement and social responsibility initiatives, fostering a sense of belonging.

Cons

  • While rates are competitive, some customers may find slightly higher premiums compared to other providers.
  • The Drive Safe and Save program’s effectiveness may vary based on individual driving habits.
  • Limited availability in certain regions, potentially restricting access for some customers.
  • Online quote process may require detailed information, leading to a longer application time.
  • Claims processing times can vary, with occasional delays reported by a minority of customers.

Final Verdict: Review of State Farm Insurance

Embark on a journey into the innovative realm of State Farm Drive Safe and Save Insurance through this comprehensive 2000-word article. Unveiling a holistic overview, the exploration begins with an enticing introduction and a detailed list of insurance types offered by State Farm.

Delving deeper, readers are introduced to the revolutionary Drive Safe and Save program, where safe driving habits translate into personalized discounts. The article navigates through coverage options, discounts, and the operational dynamics of the program, emphasizing State Farm’s commitment to safety and community.

Real customer testimonials provide authentic insights, and practical tips enhance the reader’s understanding of safety and prevention. The State Farm app takes center stage as a crucial tool in maximizing the benefits of the program.

The piece concludes by elucidating why State Farm is the insurance choice for millions, rounding off with a set of engaging FAQs that address key aspects discussed in the article, fostering a comprehensive understanding of State Farm’s unique approach to insurance.

What You Should Know About State Farm Insurance

Welcome to our comprehensive guide on State Farm Drive Safe and Save Insurance. In this article, we will explore the features, benefits, and discounts offered by State Farm’s usage-based insurance program. We’ll discuss how safe driving can earn you rewards and discounted premiums, and how the program works to personalize your coverage based on your driving habits.

The Rundown

  • Drive Safe & Save tracks driving behavior and informs you of negative driving habits you can improve.
  • Owning an OnStar device may allow you a further discount.
  • Improving your driving behaviors increases the discount.

Read more: State Farm Car Insurance Discounts

To find the best insurance rates in your area and save money, simply enter your zip code below and compare quotes from top insurance providers. Take control of your insurance and drive safe while saving with State Farm Drive Safe and Save car insurance discount program.

What is State Farm Drive Safe and Save?

The State Farm Drive Safe and Save app connects to a Bluetooth beacon that State Farm will provide you once you enroll. As long as you keep your Bluetooth on the app will provide you with driving feedback.

Here are some things it will tell you about, so you can correct your driving habits and begin saving money.

  • Distracted Driving
  • Fast Cornering
  • Hard Braking
  • Quick Acceleration
  • Speeding

If you limit these suboptimal driving behaviors you’ll begin to see discounts on your premiums. Keep in mind that insurance companies are all about risk and this app really just simplifies the process for both you and the insurer.

Before we go into a little more detail on how you can save, let’s take a look at the rates you’d be decreasing. Consult the following table to see rates for not only State Farm but other companies as well.

Read more: North Carolina Car Insurance Discounts

State Farm vs Other Leading Providers Average Annual Car Insurance Rates
StateAverage Annual Rates by StateAllstate Average Annual RatesAmerican Family Average Annual RatesFarmers Average Annual RatesGeico Average Annual RatesLiberty Mutual Average Annual RatesNationwide Average Annual RatesProgressive Average Annual RatesState Farm Average Annual RatesTravelers Average Annual RatesUSAA Average Annual Rates
Alabama$3,566.96$3,311.52Data Not Available$4,185.80$2,866.60$4,005.48$2,662.66$4,450.52$4,798.15$3,697.80$2,124.09
Alaska$3,421.51$3,145.31$4,153.07Data Not Available$2,879.96$5,295.55Data Not Available$3,062.85$2,228.12Data Not Available$2,454.21
Arizona$3,770.97$4,904.10Data Not Available$5,000.08$2,264.71Data Not Available$3,496.08$3,577.50$4,756.25$3,084.74$3,084.29
Arkansas$4,124.98$5,150.03Data Not Available$4,257.87$3,484.63Data Not Available$3,861.79$5,312.09$2,789.03$5,973.33$2,171.06
California$3,688.93$4,532.96Data Not Available$4,998.78$2,885.65$3,034.42$4,653.19$2,849.67$4,202.28$3,349.54$2,693.87
Colorado$3,876.39$5,537.17$3,733.02$5,290.24$3,091.69$2,797.74$3,739.47$4,231.92$3,270.77Data Not Available$3,338.87
Connecticut$4,618.92$5,831.60Data Not AvailableData Not Available$3,073.66$7,282.87$3,672.34$4,920.35$2,976.24$6,004.29$3,190.00
Delaware$5,986.32$6,316.06Data Not AvailableData Not Available$3,727.29$18,360.02$4,330.21$4,181.83$4,466.85$4,182.36$2,325.98
District of Columbia$4,439.24$6,468.92Data Not AvailableData Not Available$3,692.81Data Not Available$4,848.98$4,970.26$4,074.05Data Not Available$2,580.44
Florida$4,680.46$7,440.46Data Not AvailableData Not Available$3,783.63$5,368.15$4,339.60$5,583.30$3,397.67Data Not Available$2,850.41
Georgia$4,966.83$4,210.70Data Not AvailableData Not Available$2,977.20$10,053.44$6,484.90$4,499.22$3,384.88Data Not Available$3,157.46
Hawaii$2,555.64$2,173.49Data Not Available$4,763.82$3,358.86$3,189.55$2,551.83$2,177.93$1,040.28Data Not Available$1,189.35
Idaho$2,979.09$4,088.76$3,728.79$3,168.28$2,770.68$2,301.51$3,032.19Data Not Available$1,867.96$3,226.29$1,877.61
Illinois$3,305.48$5,204.41$3,815.31$4,605.20$2,779.16$2,277.65$2,711.81$3,536.65$2,344.88$2,499.76$2,770.21
Indiana$3,414.97$3,978.81$3,679.68$3,437.55$2,261.07$5,781.35Data Not Available$3,898.00$2,408.94$3,393.75$1,630.86
Iowa$2,981.28$2,965.86$3,021.81$2,435.72$2,296.16$4,415.28$2,735.44$2,395.50$2,224.51$5,429.38$1,852.57
Kansas$3,279.62$4,010.23$2,146.40$3,703.77$3,220.65$4,784.42$2,475.59$4,144.38$2,720.00$4,341.43$2,382.61
Kentucky$5,195.40$7,143.92Data Not AvailableData Not Available$4,633.59$5,930.97$5,503.23$5,547.63$3,354.32$6,551.68$2,897.89
Louisiana$5,711.34$5,998.79Data Not AvailableData Not Available$6,154.60Data Not AvailableData Not Available$7,471.10$4,579.12Data Not Available$4,353.12
Maine$2,953.28$3,675.59Data Not Available$2,770.15$2,823.05$4,331.39Data Not Available$3,643.59$2,198.68$2,252.97$1,930.79
Maryland$4,582.70$5,233.17Data Not AvailableData Not Available$3,832.63$9,297.55$2,915.69$4,094.86$3,960.87Data Not Available$2,744.14
Massachusetts$2,678.85$2,708.53Data Not AvailableData Not Available$1,510.17$4,339.35Data Not Available$3,835.11$1,361.86$3,537.94$1,458.99
Michigan$10,498.64$22,902.59Data Not Available$8,503.60$6,430.11$20,000.04$6,327.38$5,364.55$12,565.52$8,773.97$3,620.00
Minnesota$4,403.25$4,532.01$3,521.29$3,137.45$3,498.54$13,563.61$2,926.49Data Not Available$2,066.99Data Not Available$2,861.60
Mississippi$3,664.57$4,942.11Data Not AvailableData Not Available$4,087.21$4,455.94$2,756.53$4,308.85$2,980.48$3,729.32$2,056.13
Missouri$3,328.93$4,096.15$3,286.90$4,312.19$2,885.33$4,518.67$2,265.35$3,419.14$2,692.91Data Not Available$2,525.78
Montana$3,220.84$4,672.10Data Not Available$3,907.55$3,602.35$1,326.11$3,478.26$4,330.76$2,417.74Data Not Available$2,031.89
Nebraska$3,283.68$3,198.83$2,215.13$3,997.29$3,837.49$6,241.52$2,603.94$3,758.01$2,438.71Data Not Available$2,330.78
Nevada$4,861.70$5,371.62$5,441.18$5,595.56$3,662.09$6,201.55$3,477.14$4,062.57$5,796.34$5,360.41$3,069.07
New Hampshire$3,151.77$2,725.01Data Not AvailableData Not Available$1,615.02$8,444.41$2,491.10$2,694.45$2,185.46Data Not Available$1,906.96
New Jersey$5,515.21$5,713.58Data Not Available$7,617.00$2,754.94$6,766.62Data Not Available$3,972.72$7,527.16$4,254.49Data Not Available
New Mexico$3,463.64$4,200.65Data Not Available$4,315.53$4,458.30Data Not Available$3,514.38$3,119.18$2,340.66Data Not Available$2,296.77
New York$4,289.88$4,740.97Data Not AvailableData Not Available$2,428.24$6,540.73$4,012.93$3,771.15$4,484.58$4,578.79$3,761.69
North Carolina$3,393.11$7,190.43Data Not AvailableData Not Available$2,936.69$2,182.71$2,848.03$2,382.61$3,078.65$3,132.66Data Not Available
North Dakota$4,165.84$4,669.31$3,812.40$3,092.49$2,668.24$12,852.83$2,560.35$3,623.06$2,560.53Data Not Available$2,006.80
Ohio$2,709.71$3,197.22$1,515.17$3,423.01$1,867.19$4,429.74$3,300.89$3,436.96$2,507.88$3,135.16$1,478.46
Oklahoma$4,142.33$3,718.62Data Not Available$4,142.40$3,437.34$6,874.62Data Not Available$4,832.35$2,816.80Data Not Available$3,174.15
Oregon$3,467.77$4,765.95$3,527.28$3,753.52$3,220.12$4,334.55$3,176.83$3,629.13$2,731.48$2,892.19$2,587.15
Pennsylvania$4,034.50$3,984.12Data Not AvailableData Not Available$2,605.22$6,055.20$2,800.37$4,451.00$2,744.23$7,842.47$1,793.37
Rhode Island$5,003.36$4,959.45Data Not AvailableData Not Available$5,602.63$6,184.12$4,409.63$5,231.09$2,406.51$6,909.45$4,323.98
South Carolina$3,781.14$3,903.43Data Not Available$4,691.85$3,178.01Data Not Available$3,625.49$4,573.08$3,071.34Data Not Available$3,424.77
South Dakota$3,982.27$4,723.72$4,047.47$3,768.80$2,940.29$7,515.99$2,737.66$3,752.81$2,306.23Data Not AvailableData Not Available
Tennessee$3,660.89$4,828.85Data Not Available$3,430.07$3,283.42$6,206.69$3,424.96$3,656.91$2,639.30$2,738.52$2,739.28
Texas$4,043.28$5,485.44$4,848.72Data Not Available$3,263.28Data Not Available$3,867.55$4,664.69$2,879.94Data Not Available$2,487.89
Utah$3,611.89$3,566.42$3,698.77$3,907.99$2,965.57$4,327.76$2,986.57$3,830.10$4,645.83Data Not Available$2,491.10
Vermont$3,234.13$3,190.38Data Not AvailableData Not Available$2,195.71$3,621.08$2,128.21$5,217.14$4,382.84Data Not Available$1,903.55
Virginia$2,357.87$3,386.80Data Not AvailableData Not Available$2,061.53Data Not Available$2,073.00$2,498.58$2,268.95Data Not Available$1,858.38
Washington$3,059.32$3,540.52$3,713.02$2,962.00$2,568.65$3,994.73$2,129.84$3,209.52$2,499.78Data Not Available$2,262.16
West Virginia$2,595.36$3,820.68Data Not AvailableData Not Available$2,120.80$2,924.39Data Not AvailableData Not Available$2,126.32Data Not Available$1,984.62
Wisconsin$3,606.06$4,854.41$1,513.27$3,777.49$3,926.20$6,758.85$5,224.99$3,128.91$2,387.53Data Not Available$2,975.74
Wyoming$3,200.08$4,373.93Data Not Available$3,069.35$3,496.56$1,989.36$3,187.20$4,401.17$2,303.55Data Not Available$2,779.53

Read more: Minnesota Car Insurance Discounts

Other ways to save with Drive Safe and Save are limiting night driving time, limiting driving during times of decreased visibility, trying ride-sharing services, public transportation, or biking.

Read more: Texas Car Insurance Discounts

Now that we’ve gone through what State Farm’s Drive Safe and Save app does for you, let’s learn how to enroll.

Read more: Montana Car Insurance Discounts

How do you enroll in State Farm’s Drive Safe and Save program?

First, you text SAVE to 78836. This is how you download Drive Safe & Save. State Farm allows you to download it from either the App Store or Google Play Store.

You will be given simplistic step-by-step instructions to complete app setup. The final stage of app setup is to activate the Bluetooth beacon that will be sent to you.

OnStar

Remember how we said that with State Farm’s Drive Safe and Save program they would send you a Bluetooth beacon? The other option is to have an OnStar system that will do the same thing.

When comparing these two the fact of the matter is that both of these devices yield the same result. No matter which of these two devices you use, State Farm says that you could save anywhere between 30 percent and 50 percent on your auto insurance premiums.

So what is the difference? Why get OnStar? Because there will be a further discount that will be calculated based on your annual mileage. This is calculated via collected readings from your odometer.

Let’s conclude our discussion on the various OnStar car insurance discount plans.

OnStar Plans

OnStar actually has several plans to choose from. Their Connected Access Plan has the basics to help you keep your car healthy. If you purchase a new vehicle, you get 10 years of this.

The Remote Access Plan is similar except you don’t need to be in your car to access OnStar. You can just use your OnStar login on the mobile app.

First off, the Unlimited Access Plan has everything the Remote Access Plan has. The Unlimited Access Plan also allows for unlimited data, it has Amazon’s Alexa built-in, and comes with Turn-by-Turn Navigation.

So, how much is OnStar? Connected Access is $15 per month. Remote Access is also $15 per month but can also be procured for a year for only $149.90. Lastly, the Unlimited Access Plan is $24.99 per month.

You may also be wondering how to get OnStar for free. They will give you three months of Connected Services and some perks as a free trial.

In the end, the point is to accrue as many discounts as possible. When you start a policy, be it with State Farm or any other insurer, inquire as to what discounts you can take advantage of that are applicable to your life. Read our article Car and renters insurance discounts to learn more about discounts on car insurance.

Get a good start on finding the right car insurance company by typing your ZIP code into our free and helpful tool below. Get the best car insurance rates for you.

State Farm Insurance Coverage Options

State Farm offers a range of coverage options designed to provide protection in various situations. Let’s explore the coverage options offered by State Farm:

  • Liability Coverage: Protects against bodily injury and property damage claims if you’re at fault in an accident.
  • Collision Coverage: Covers repair or replacement costs for your vehicle in case of a collision with another vehicle or object.
  • Comprehensive Coverage: Protects against non-collision events, such as theft, vandalism, or natural disasters.
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage: Offers protection if you’re involved in an accident with a driver who has insufficient or no insurance.
  • Medical Payments Coverage: Covers medical expenses for you and your passengers, regardless of fault.
  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP): Provides broader coverage for medical expenses, lost wages, and other expenses, irrespective of fault.
  • Rental Car Reimbursement: Covers the cost of a rental car if your insured vehicle is undergoing repairs after a covered event.
  • Emergency Road Service: Assistance for services like towing, jump-starts, and tire changes in case of a breakdown.

State Farm’s comprehensive coverage options allow policyholders to tailor their insurance plans to specific needs and circumstances. Understanding these options empowers individuals to create a personalized policy that provides the necessary protection on the road.

Compare The Best Insurance Quotes In The Country

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Farm Insurance Rates Breakdown

State Farm, like any insurance company, considers various factors to determine the cost of coverage. Let’s explore these key elements that impact the insurance cost with State Farm:

  • Driving History: A clean driving record with no accidents or traffic violations often results in lower premiums.
  • Vehicle Type: The make, model, and year of your vehicle influence insurance costs; luxury or high-performance cars may have higher premiums.
  • Coverage Limits: Higher coverage limits and additional coverage options can increase the cost of insurance.
  • Credit Score: In some states, credit history may be a factor in determining insurance rates.
  • Age and Gender: Younger drivers and males, statistically considered higher risk, may face higher premiums.
  • Location: Insurance costs vary by geographic location due to factors like crime rates, traffic patterns, and weather conditions.
  • Mileage: The number of miles you drive annually can impact your insurance costs.
  • Discount Eligibility: Taking advantage of available discounts, such as safe driving or bundling policies, can help lower premiums.

As you navigate the insurance landscape with State Farm, being mindful of these influencing factors allows you to make informed choices and potentially optimize your coverage costs. Keep in mind that insurance is a personalized service, and understanding these elements helps tailor your coverage to both your needs and your budget.

State Farm Insurance Discounts Available

State Farm Drive Safe and Save Insurance program. One of the key attractions of this usage-based insurance initiative is the variety of discounts offered to policyholders based on their driving habits.

By utilizing telematics and a dedicated mobile app, State Farm encourages safe driving behaviors and rewards customers with potential premium reductions. Let’s explore the discounts available through the Drive Safe and Save program:

  • Safe Driving Discount: Earn rewards for maintaining safe driving habits, including smooth acceleration, controlled braking, and adherence to speed limits.
  • Low Mileage Discount: If you limit your annual mileage, you can qualify for additional savings on your auto insurance premiums.
  • Night Driving Limitations: Restricting driving during nighttime hours can result in extra discounts, promoting safer driving practices.
  • Reduced Driving during Low Visibility Conditions: Avoiding driving during times of decreased visibility, such as heavy fog or rain, can contribute to further premium reductions.
  • Exploration of Alternative Transportation: Trying ride-sharing services, utilizing public transportation, or opting for biking may make you eligible for additional savings.

As you embark on the journey with State Farm Drive Safe and Save, keep in mind that maximizing these discounts can contribute to substantial savings on your auto insurance premiums. Whether you choose the Bluetooth beacon or the OnStar system, the program emphasizes safety, personalized coverage, and the potential for significant financial benefits.

State Farm Drive Safe and Save Insurance Effortless Claims Process

Ease of Filing a Claim (Online, Over the Phone, Mobile Apps)

State Farm’s Drive Safe and Save Insurance program provides various options for filing a claim to make the process as convenient as possible for its customers. You can file a claim online through their website, over the phone by contacting their customer service, or even through their mobile app.

The availability of multiple channels ensures that customers can choose the method that suits them best, whether they prefer the ease of digital filing or the personal touch of speaking with a representative.

Average Claim Processing Time

The efficiency of claim processing is a crucial factor for insurance customers. While the specific claim processing time may vary depending on the nature and complexity of the claim, State Farm strives to provide timely service to its policyholders. To get an accurate understanding of their average claim processing time, it’s advisable to check with State Farm directly, as this information may change over time.

Customer Feedback on Claim Resolutions and Payouts

Customer feedback is invaluable in evaluating an insurance company’s performance when it comes to claim resolutions and payouts. To assess the quality of State Farm’s claims service, it’s essential to consider the experiences and opinions of their policyholders.

Look for reviews and testimonials from State Farm Drive Safe and Save Insurance customers to gauge their satisfaction with the company’s claim handling process.

Exploring Digital and Technological Advancements of State Farm Drive Safe and Save Insurance

Mobile App Features and Functionality

State Farm’s Drive Safe and Save program offers a dedicated mobile app that enhances the overall experience for policyholders. The app connects to a Bluetooth beacon provided by State Farm and offers valuable insights into your driving habits.

It provides feedback on various driving behaviors, allowing you to identify areas for improvement and potential premium discounts. Additionally, the mobile app may offer features like real-time driving data, trip tracking, and personalized tips for safer driving.

Online Account Management Capabilities

Managing your insurance policy and monitoring your driving habits have never been easier with State Farm’s online account management capabilities. Through their website or mobile app, you can access and update your policy information, view your driving data, and track your progress in earning discounts. This digital convenience empowers policyholders to have greater control over their insurance experience.

Digital Tools and Resources

State Farm Drive Safe and Save Insurance program goes beyond traditional coverage by providing policyholders with valuable digital tools and resources. These may include educational materials on safe driving, tutorials on using the mobile app effectively, and access to resources that promote responsible driving habits.

These digital assets not only help customers save on premiums but also contribute to safer roads and communities.

How State Farm Insurance Ranks Among Providers

State Farm faces competition from various providers, each offering unique features and services. Knowing the key players in the market helps consumers make informed decisions. Here are some notable competitors of State Farm:

  • Geico: Known for competitive rates and a user-friendly online experience, GEICO is a major player in the auto insurance industry.
  • Progressive: Renowned for its innovative approaches, Progressive offers usage-based insurance, similar to State Farm’s Drive Safe and Save program.
  • Allstate: A well-established provider, Allstate offers a range of insurance products and features like accident forgiveness.
  • Farmers Insurance: Recognized for personalized coverage options, Farmers caters to a diverse range of insurance needs.
  • Liberty Mutual: With a focus on customizable policies, Liberty Mutual is a prominent competitor in the insurance market.

Navigating the insurance market involves exploring options beyond State Farm, considering the strengths and offerings of various competitors. Each competitor brings unique features to the table, allowing consumers to find a provider that aligns with their specific needs and preferences.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is State Farm Drive Safe and Save Insurance?

State Farm Drive Safe and Save is a usage-based car insurance program that rewards safe driving habits with discounts on insurance premiums.

How does State Farm Drive Safe and Save work?

State Farm Drive Safe and Save uses a telematics device or mobile app to track your driving habits, such as speed, acceleration, and braking. Based on your driving behavior, you can earn discounts of up to 30% on your insurance premiums.

What kind of discounts can I get with State Farm Drive Safe and Save?

You can earn discounts of up to 30% on your insurance premiums with State Farm Drive Safe and Save.

Do I need to have a certain type of car to enroll in State Farm Drive Safe and Save?

No, you can enroll in State Farm Drive Safe and Save regardless of the type of car you have.

Is there a fee for enrolling in State Farm Drive Safe and Save?

There is no fee to enroll in State Farm Drive Safe and Save.

Compare The Best Insurance Quotes In The Country

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Heidi Mertlich

Licensed Insurance Agent

Heidi works with top-rated life insurance carriers to bring her clients the highest quality protection at the most competitive prices. She founded NoPhysicalTermLife.com, specializing in life insurance that doesn’t require a medical exam. Heidi is a regular contributor to several insurance websites, including FinanceBuzz.com, Insurist.com, and Forbes. As a parent herself, she understands the ...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Daniel Walker

Licensed Insurance Agent

Dan Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has been working in his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, life, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. He reviews content, ensuring tha...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Reviews
for State Farm Insurance

4.09 (17,754 reviews)
1
February 5, 2024

Chopper407

Two thumbs down for the claims department.

State Farm appears to be riding high with their NFL player commercials all the while treating their customers with little to no valve. State Farm’s claim department is cheap and unorganized. You’ll get a different answer to the same question every time you talk to a different claim specialist. When it comes to getting your car fixed expect to have to pay for repairs. I have full coverage and had damage done to my car. When I took it to a shop...
State Farm appears to be riding high with their NFL player commercials all the while treating their customers with little to no valve. State Farm’s claim department is cheap and unorganized. You’ll get a different answer to the same question every time you talk to a different claim specialist. When it comes to getting your car fixed expect to have to pay for repairs. I have full coverage and had damage done to my car. When I took it to a shop recommended by the dealer the State Farm adjuster undercut the shops prices left and right leaving me with a $1167.00 bill. Then they give me bs excuses why I’m out of pocket. I can only imagine what they would do if my house was damaged from a Hurricane or wind storm. This has been a terrible experience for my wife and I and will be switching to a different insurance company in the near future.
5
October 28, 2023

trailrunner87

Excellent Insurance Experience with State Farm

I unfortunately hit a deer and my front end was damaged to a small extent. State Farm made my car repair and rental car process seamless. Since there was no one involved in my accident besides myself, I decided to try their app to log my claim and I had a very easy experience. I didn't have to submit photos since it was a deer that caused it and it gave me next steps clearly and quickly. It gave me a list of collision centers and rental car pla...
I unfortunately hit a deer and my front end was damaged to a small extent. State Farm made my car repair and rental car process seamless. Since there was no one involved in my accident besides myself, I decided to try their app to log my claim and I had a very easy experience. I didn't have to submit photos since it was a deer that caused it and it gave me next steps clearly and quickly. It gave me a list of collision centers and rental car places, let me know what my rental car allowance was since I had recently added that to my policy, and let me know my deductible clearly at the end. I did everything through the app. Within a few hours, someone called me from State Farm to make sure I was okay and to ask if I needed any clarification or help navigating the app. She was caring and easy to talk to. I also love my agent, Bob Garrigan, and his whole team. They have always been there to discuss things with, to make good decisions with, and to support whatever I choose to do. I have never felt taken advantage of. I had two other accident claims with them a few years ago. Both went smoothly as well - both times, men rear-ended me. The first gentleman lied about it to avoid a policy issue on his end and my agent stayed the course and continued to patiently work with his insurance company until they took ownership of his actions and paid the claim. The second time I was rear-ended, the young man didn't contest his part in it, but the collision center was difficult to work with and State Farm had to call them out for their poor performance and work on my behalf. This is how an insurance company should treat their customer. I plan to stay with State Farm for as long as they give five star service.
1
October 19, 2023

Ann_Smith

To "Insure" a downfall

State Farm, as with many insurance companies care about only 1 thing. Money. I think the best way to understand it is just to watch the Incredibles, and that scene with Bob at his job. Does it matter who is at fault? No. Does it matter what the circumstances were? No. Does it matter if anybody is being unethical? No. What matters is the cold, hard cash. You can pay thousands of dollars, have a fender bender with barely a scratch and OOOP, they ha...
State Farm, as with many insurance companies care about only 1 thing. Money. I think the best way to understand it is just to watch the Incredibles, and that scene with Bob at his job. Does it matter who is at fault? No. Does it matter what the circumstances were? No. Does it matter if anybody is being unethical? No. What matters is the cold, hard cash. You can pay thousands of dollars, have a fender bender with barely a scratch and OOOP, they had to pay money to fix it? Strike one. Soon enough, you are out with yesterday's garbage. Heaven forbid you have a child learning how to drive and something goes wrong. I can promise you it will haunt them for years to come. They say they only look at the past three years. That would be a lie. They say they have your back, and that would be a lie. Any possibility they have to pay anything, even if only partial fault, they can, and will, throw the sack at ya. With that said, it does have some lovely agents. I could rave about how awesome they are. Heck, an agent thought it would be ridiculous to sack somebody over what happened to me, but, you know, he appealed and the company still said "Whaaat, we must pay money even though the person has barely had issues? No way!" Amazing how they can hire good ethical employees, but can't be a good ethical business. You can spend way more in premiums than they have ever had to pay for anything, but who cares? They don't want to to ever have to do their job. Insurance is required by law. But what is the point of having insurance when at the snap of the fingers they can dig up something that happened when you were learning how to drive and compare it to a small fender bender in the future and say "We don't want that!" What is to feel safe about? The motto "we got your back... as long as you are the only one who has to pay us anything. Ever." Should be their slogan. You can't learn from mistakes, even if you never make them again, you can't have complications with a new license without it haunting your future. You can't be human, and sometimes make human error. Insurance is there to ensure you will be ok. The only thing state farm ensures is their path to your wallet, and a way to ditch if any of YOUR money ever has to come back to you because things happen.
1
September 16, 2023

romomy

Ridiculous Rate Increases

They just raised my rate by $100.00 which was bad enough but they raised my mother's $400.00. She's on a fixed income and her rate was already ridiculously high. She has a good driving record and has been with SF for decades. When we made a move to the West coast, they doubled what she was paying back home (from a little over $600.00 per yr to $1200 every six months) and now to raise it another $400.00 after six months is adding insult to inju...
They just raised my rate by $100.00 which was bad enough but they raised my mother's $400.00. She's on a fixed income and her rate was already ridiculously high. She has a good driving record and has been with SF for decades. When we made a move to the West coast, they doubled what she was paying back home (from a little over $600.00 per yr to $1200 every six months) and now to raise it another $400.00 after six months is adding insult to injury. She worked her entire life and always paid her bill on time. No accidents, tickets, etc. No way she can afford $1600.00 every six months. That's if they don't raise it again in 6 months. It is appalling that they treat decades long customers this way. She's supposed to be enjoying retirement but how is she supposed to do that when she can't drive? If you think being with SF forever will help you in your twilight years forget it. They don't care about longterm business. Obviously, they raised her rate so much because they know she can't pay that much and they get to drop her without being called out for age discrimination. Changing companies ASAP.
4
July 22, 2023

Jen Anders

State Farm Insurance review

The State Farm Drive Safe & Save app is below average. Doesn\'t record every trip as it should. Requires my cellphone to have everything on (Location, Storage, Bluetooth, Physical Location, Phone, etc.), but lowers your trip score if the phone moves, jostles, or slides at all while you drive, A pain in the neck to deal with it every time. Also, it recorded a trip I did not make in my vehicle, but that my spouse drove us in his vehicle. So far af...
The State Farm Drive Safe & Save app is below average. Doesn\'t record every trip as it should. Requires my cellphone to have everything on (Location, Storage, Bluetooth, Physical Location, Phone, etc.), but lowers your trip score if the phone moves, jostles, or slides at all while you drive, A pain in the neck to deal with it every time. Also, it recorded a trip I did not make in my vehicle, but that my spouse drove us in his vehicle. So far after1 month its only an $11.10 discount for 6 months, but we will see. I would not recommend this app. Allstatea was much more user friendly and less \"Big Brother.\"
5
May 3, 2023

LHN

Personal article policy

[REDACTED NAME] was very helpful with my personal articles policy. I made my payment for 2023 to my auto policy. She was very helpful to ensure payment when to the correct department.
1
March 17, 2023

Love2sing_

Customer Concerns or Customer Loyalty Mean Nothing

After almost 20 years of being a State Farm customer, I will be moving on to another insurance carrier. I took my car to be repaired at a State Farm preferred body shop after a collision with a deer. Traumatizing! The repair shop didn’t submit all the needed repairs to State Farm in an effort to cut corners and still do the work just barely under the threshold of my vehicle being totaled. When I went to pick up my car, the engine light was on, ...
After almost 20 years of being a State Farm customer, I will be moving on to another insurance carrier. I took my car to be repaired at a State Farm preferred body shop after a collision with a deer. Traumatizing! The repair shop didn’t submit all the needed repairs to State Farm in an effort to cut corners and still do the work just barely under the threshold of my vehicle being totaled. When I went to pick up my car, the engine light was on, my instrument panel wasn’t working, and my sunroof liner was still sagging inside the vehicle. The repair shop relayed to State Farm that such issues were “pre-existing” issues. This claim was totally untrue. I ended up taking my vehicle to the dealership to fix the electrical issues that did not exist prior to the accident. It was determined at the dealership that those issues were a result of unsavory work performed at the body shop. The final issue was the sunroof liner. The body shop still insisted it was a pre-existing condition. I contacted State Farm directly with my concern. They told me unless I had a photo of the liner intact before the accident, they would stand by the report of the body shop because the shop is on their preferred list. How absurd! My only request was that they send a State Farm representative to look at the sunroof. They would not comply, and I was told that if I need to change insurance companies, they would understand. As a result, I am now financially responsible for this outstanding repair to my vehicle. So, no I would not recommend State Farm as an insurance carrier. They were NOT “like a good neighbor.” They were NOT “there” for me as a customer. If you do select them, make sure you take a picture of your vehicle intact right before you anticipate an accident. Absurd!
1
March 2, 2023

Amb13

Rather have no insurance

If there is ever a possibility that you may be in an accident, even if you didn't cause it and tried to avoid it.....DONT go to state farm. When your in an accident they don't want to help. They argue about paying you and when they do, it I'd never on time. They keep upping their prices. I wouldn't tell my worst enemy to get insurance through here and have had multiple people go somewhere else. TERRIBLE COMPANY!
1
February 18, 2023

Cristel94

No accountability from them

I had an accident a while back and they got my car fixed at a location THEY recommended. I had it fixed (according to the location) and I left just fine. Exactly one year later I’m starting to have issues with my car and after a few discoveries, I knew it stemmed from that accident. I called State Farm and they had me take it to get looked at and go from there. I took it to a collision center and waited for my car to get looked at. It has been ...
I had an accident a while back and they got my car fixed at a location THEY recommended. I had it fixed (according to the location) and I left just fine. Exactly one year later I’m starting to have issues with my car and after a few discoveries, I knew it stemmed from that accident. I called State Farm and they had me take it to get looked at and go from there. I took it to a collision center and waited for my car to get looked at. It has been a mess from there and I had no car for about a month! In that month it was full of no communication from their end, and no responsibility and accountability over something I was 100% sure stemmed from that accident, seeing as my car was perfectly fine before. I have received mostly bad customer service from workers there who spoke to me with little patience, condescending tones and if I was a disturbance, as if I haven’t been a loyal customer for YEARS. Everyone who was helping me with this case outside of the state farm team has been super helpful and patient because they understand how much of a stress this can be to someone. In the end I had two different people come out to estimate my car, the second time me being there to help them understand what they need to be looking at. The estimator the second time even saw defects the previous people who fixed my car had done. I’m the end, they still didn’t believe it was from this, but instead because this was originally a salvage vehicle so it MUST be from that. Ignoring the fact that my car was perfectly fine beforehand and had no issues with ANYTHING, including getting it aligned. Distraught, I had to drive an unsafe vehicle for a week, clutching at the wheel and hoping I can make it to and from my destinations, until I had a body shop guy look at my car and see what was going on. I took it today and he said, just as I imagined, the entire issue was from the side where (shock!) the accident occurred! The left side was fine. As soon as I fix the right side, my car should be fine. The previous people who had my car literally destroyed my vehicle and even caused me to have a what could have been deadly accident where my tire split, and State Farm simply backed them up (not to mention that place closed so that shows how “reputable” they were) instead of supporting a loyal customer for years. We pay hundreds to insurance companies a month and the rare times we need them to use the money we give them, they treat us like crap and take no responsibility for taking us to a place that don’t fix my car and almost had me killed. I’m not even typing out all the small details on this issue and look how long this review had to be! Truly I may just switch insurances because this has been such a horrible experience and I hope the next place actually cares about their customers. “Like a good neighbor, State Farm is there”? Lmao if they were my “good neighbors”, I’d close my blinds and ignore them if they rang my doorbell to come over…
1
February 3, 2023

Nsu_1617

State Farm Insurance is really bad!!!

Here in Maryland, State Farm has a lion's share of car insurance. Everywhere you look, there an agent. I used to have a policy with them, but changed to a competitor when they their rates. Long story short, my wife was involved in an auto accident with their client who changed lanes, drove into my wife's leading to a collision with damage to my wife's front bumper. State Farm kept stringing me on for two weeks and eventually refused to pay for da...
Here in Maryland, State Farm has a lion's share of car insurance. Everywhere you look, there an agent. I used to have a policy with them, but changed to a competitor when they their rates. Long story short, my wife was involved in an auto accident with their client who changed lanes, drove into my wife's leading to a collision with damage to my wife's front bumper. State Farm kept stringing me on for two weeks and eventually refused to pay for damages. Every time I called, a representative was giving me a different story. The company sucks.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.usinsuranceagents.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption