Kentucky Car Insurance Requirements
Kentucky car insurance requirements are 25/50/10 in minimum liability and an additional $10,000 minimum in Personal Injury Protection. Kentucky auto insurance laws allow residents to choose whether they want to drive under traditional tort law or opt into no-fault insurance law. Learn more and compare Kentucky car insurance rates for free with our guide below.
Free Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.
It is important to maintain a car insurance policy in Kentucky as the state has strict penalties for those who don’t. The state is one of 3 states that follows the rules of a choice no-fault system but the specific regulations can vary from other states. Staying current on Kentucky insurance rules and regulations can help you maintain adequate coverage.
Similar to New Jersey and Pennsylvania insurance laws, Kentucky operates under a choice no fault system. This type of system is a hybrid of a pure no fault system and a tort system. Drivers are able to select whether or not they wish to retain their legal rights and follow the rules of a tort system or select to strictly follow a no fault system.
All personal vehicles in Kentucky require the following liability coverage requirements:
- Bodily Injury
- Property Damage
|Minimum Kentucky Car Insurance Requirements|
|Bodily Injury Liability||$25,000 / $50,000 Limit|
|Property Damage Liability||$10,000 Limit|
|Personal Injury Protection||$10,000 Limit|
Additional insurance coverage can include:
- Comprehensive and Collision Coverage
- Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage
Comprehensive and collision insurance provide added protection for repairs and replacement of your vehicle. Collision pays for damages resulting from a crash while comprehensive covers non-collision incidents such as a tornado or having your car stolen. With the most stolen vehicles in Kentucky list growing, it’s always advisable to maintain this type of coverage.
This is especially true if you live or commute in Louisville, one of the 10 deadliest cities for U.S. drivers.
Underinsured or uninsured insurance isn’t as useful in a no fault state as in states operating under a tort system because many of the benefits are already covered under a basic policy. However, if
you’re looking to cover yourself in the event of lost wages from an accident, this insurance coverage will help you.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility
- Get a standard liability car insurance policy
In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:
- Copy of your insurance ID card
- Your VIN number as it appears in the insured vehicle database
- Copy of your insurance policy or binder
- Copy of your declaration page
- A letter from the Kentucky Automobile Insurance Plan or Kentucky Office of Insurance
- An affidavit showing proof of insurance (if the owner is serving in the military outside of Kentucky)
You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility:
- When asked by a police officer
- After an accident
- When registering your vehicle
- Anytime you drive your vehicle
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties
If you are not able to show proof of insurance, you can face the following penalties:
- Suspension of your license and/or registration
- Fines up to $1,000 for a first offense, higher for subsequent offenses
- Imprisonment up to 6 months depending on the specific violation