North Carolina Car Insurance Regulations & Required Coverage
North Carolina car insurance regulations operate under a tort system, meaning the at-fault driver and their insurance are responsible for covering damages and injuries sustained by all parties. North Carolina auto insurance requirements are 30/60/25 in both minimum liability and uninsured motorist coverage. To get the best rates on your North Carolina car insurance coverage, enter your ZIP code below to compare quotes from local companies for free.
Free Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Nov 5, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.
North Carolina car insurance rates can vary from driver to driver but the state has minimums that all drivers must maintain. The state follows a tort system and therefore it is recommended that drivers obtain insurance coverage greater than the state minimums. Failure to maintain adequate coverage in North Carolina can result in fines and other penalties.
In North Carolina, when a car accident occurs, someone must always be found to be at fault for causing the accident. This type of system is known as a tort system. The person found at fault, along with their insurance company, is then held responsible for paying any financial liabilities resulting from the crash.
All personal vehicles in Texas require the following liability coverage requirements:
- Bodily Injury
- Property Damage
Additionally, North Carolina requires the following coverage:
- Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury
- Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist Property Damage
|Minimum North Carolina Car Insurance Requirements|
|Bodily Injury Liability||$30,000 / $60,000 Limit|
|Property Damage Liability||$25,000 Limit|
|Uninsured/Underinsured Bodily Injury||$30,000 / $60,000 Limit|
|Uninsured/Underinsured Property Damage||$25,000 Limit|
Additional insurance coverage can include:
- Comprehensive and Collision Coverage
Collision insurance coverage pays for repairs to your vehicle after it has been in an accident. Comprehensive insurance coverage pays for repairs to your vehicle for situations not specifically resulting from an accident. These can include incidents such as your car being vandalized or hurricane damage. The most stolen vehicles in North Carolina may be more likely to benefit from comprehensive, but it’s still recommended to add this option to your policy. Each coverage will pay out expenses above your chosen deductible.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility
- Get a standard liability car insurance policy
In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:
- Insurance ID Card
- Self Certification – you will need to provide the insurance company name and policy number
- Certificate of Insurance (FS-1)
You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility and present it:
- When asked by a police officer
- When obtaining or transferring your license or permit
- When restoring your license after having it revoked or suspended
- When awarded a “Limited Privilege” license by the court
- When obtaining a title or registration for your vehicle
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties
If you are unable to show proof of insurance when asked, you can face one of the following penalties:
- A fee listed on form FS 5-7
- 30 day license suspension
- Other penalties and fines that can be in excess of $200
In North Carolina, if you cancel your coverage or if your coverage lapses, you are responsible for replying to a notice sent by the DMV within 10 days. If you fail to notify the DMV in 10 days, you are liable for paying fees listed on form FS 5-7. If you do not respond to the notice or have proper coverage, you can face harsher penalties such as having your license suspended and fines that can total more than $200. After, you will then be required to complete form FS-1 and submit it to the DMV.
North Carolina Insurance Agents
Charlotte Car Insurance | Raleigh Car Insurance | Greensboro Car Insurance | Durham Car Insurance | Winston Salem Car Insurance | Fayetteville Car Insurance | Cary Car Insurance | Wilmington Car Insurance | High Point Car Insurance | Greenville Car Insurance | Asheville Car Insurance | Concord Car Insurance | Gastonia Car Insurance | Jacksonville Car Insurance | Chapel Hill Car Insurance | Rocky Mount Car Insurance | Huntersville Car Insurance | Burlington Car Insurance