South Dakota Car Insurance Requirements
South Dakota car insurance requirements are 25/50/25 in both liability and uninsured motorist coverage. Not every state requires uninsured motorist coverage, so you may see your South Dakota auto insurance rates increase for the additional coverage. The average cost of car insurance in South Dakota is $105/mo. Enter your ZIP code below to see how your South Dakota car insurance quotes compare.
Free Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.
South Dakota insurance rules and regulations vary from other states. They require all drivers establish and maintain financial responsibility when operating a vehicle in the state. The most common way of meeting the insurance requirements is to obtain a car insurance policy either through a state licensed agency or through the South Dakota Automobile Insurance Plan. Specific details of South Dakota insurance law should be reviewed to ensure you are following them and have adequate coverage.
Unlike North Dakota insurance law which follows a no fault system, South Dakota follows a tort system. Under a tort system, someone must always be found responsible for causing an accident (at fault) and then is held accountable for any financial obligations associated with the accident. The law can vary from state to state.
All personal vehicles in South Dakota require the following liability coverage requirements:
- Bodily Injury
- Property Damage
The state also requires drivers to maintain the following coverage:
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury
|Minimum South Dakota Car Insurance Requirements|
|Bodily Injury Liability||$25,000 / $50,000 Limit|
|Property Damage Liability||$25,000 Limit|
|Uninsured/Underinsured Bodily Injury||$25,000 / $50,000 Limit|
Additional insurance coverage can include:
- Comprehensive and Collision Coverage
Comprehensive and collision insurance go hand in hand. The former covers non-collision related incidents that can include fire damage or having your car broken into while the latter covers damage done to your vehicle from an accident. The list of most stolen vehicles in South Dakota provides more information on they types of vehicles that can also make use of comprehensive insurance.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility
- Get a standard liability car insurance policy
- Get coverage through the South Dakota Automobile Insurance Plan
- Surety bond from a state licensed broker
- Cash deposit of $50,000 with the State Treasurer
- Self insurance – must have more than 25vehicles insured
In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:
- Insurance ID card
- Proof showing coverage through the South Dakota Automobile Insurance Plan
- Certificate of self insurance
- Certificate of deposit from State Treasurer
- Proof of surety bond
You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility:
- When asked by a police officer
- After an accident
- When registering your vehicle
- Anytime you drive your vehicle
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties
If you are not able to show proof of insurance, you can face the following penalties:
- Fine of $100
- 30 days in jail
- Requirement to file an SR-22 for the following 3 years
- Suspension of your license for up to 1 year
- Reinstatement fees between $50 – $200